Bundle and Save!

Why I'm Like This: True Stories (Paperback)

Why I'm Like This: True Stories Cover Image
$13.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Cynthia Kaplan takes us on a hilarious and sometimes heartbreaking journey through her unique, uncensored world her bungled romantic encounters and unsung theatrical experiences; her gadget-obsessed father, her pill-popping therapist, and her eccentric grandmothers; her fearless husband, whom she engages in an ongoing battle over which of them is the most popular person in their apartment; and, of course, her vengeful, power-hungry one-year-old son.

Kaplan's voice is a lot like the one in our heads the one that most of us are only willing to listen to late at night . . . maybe while locked in a closet. What a relief it is that someone finally admits that she is afraid of nearly everything; that she is jealous even of people whose lives are on the verge of collapse; and that she has, at times, tried to pass for a gentile.

Praise For…


“Quick–witted, neatly written and unapologetically grandiose…in the spirit of Dorothy Parker…[Kaplan] renders weird and rowdy scenarios with style.”
-New York Times Book Review

“This is a charming collection of essays in the spirit of David Sedaris…”
-John Searles, The Early Show on CBS

“A fresh voice with a bright future.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“Knee-slapping hilarious…Fans of David Sedaris or Anne Lamott will appreciate (Kaplan’s) quirky way of looking at life’s intricacies.”
-USA Today

“Funny, sweet, weirdly life-affirming and painfully true…”
-Jerry Stahl, author of PERMANENT MIDNIGHT and PLAINCLOTHES NAKED

“Cynthia Kaplan’s gift is her ability to take on life’s absurdities and come out a winner.”
-Debra Ginsberg, author of WAITING and RAISING BLAZE

“Kaplan consistently amuses while cutting surprisingly deep.”
-Booklist

“When Kaplan is funny, she’s very funny…Well worth reading.”
-New Orleans Times-Picayune

“One of downtown’s coolest actors . . . you’ll laugh until you can’t breathe.”
-Time Out New York

“Cynthia Kaplan is very funny. These piece are very, very funny.”
-Laura Zigman, author of Animal Husbandry and Her

“WHY I’M LIKE THIS is an impressive debut and Kaplan has a wonderfully natural comedic style.”
-Detroit Free Press

“WHY I’M LIKE THIS is a collection of personal essays that are as funny as they are poignant.”
-Paper Magazine

Product Details
ISBN: 9780061283963
ISBN-10: 0061283967
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publication Date: May 2007
Pages: 212
Language: English
Series: P.S.