Uninvited

Uninvited (Hardcover)

List Price: $17.99
Our Price: $14.39
(Save: $3.60 20%)
Usually Ships in 1-5 days

Staff Reviews



The year is March 15, 2021 and crime is on the rise. At first the government started testing just the known criminals and the unwanted. Then they started testing ever person for the HTS gene, a known gene found in criminals. Davy Hamilton is a rich girl, a music prodigy, the girlfriend of the most popular guy at school—and now a known carrier. Everything changes for Davy. She loses her friends, her boyfriend, and her future. One test changed it all.
Sean O’Rourke has been labeled and tested since he was a child. A foster care kid, he has no problem living up to who he is. Sean is used to being on his own and surviving life as an HTS. When a mass shooting occurs, the government decides to round up all the criminals and lock them together. But those who have potential are separated from the others, trained and groomed to be killers.
The main focus of this book is: what is stronger, our DNA or our environment? Would these kids have been criminals anyway or did society create them? Many of the kids in the story do not have violent tendencies until put into the situation of survival. We all have potential for violence in us and this exploits the notion of having a label on the outside for all to see. The scariest part of this book is this situation could easily happen. DNA testing is so prevalent now and all it would take is a government using that against us. The love story is an added bonus. This is book 1 of a series and I literally cannot wait for book 2. So, Sophie Jordan, if you ever read this, help me out please.

--Rosa, New Jersey

Description


From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her as a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy had everything--a terrific boyfriend, the homecoming crown, a bright future at Juilliard--but when her genetic tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, she loses it all. Uninvited from her prestigious school and avoided by her friends and family, she is placed in a special class with other "carriers" who are treated like the murderers they someday might become.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life and tells her that she alone controls her actions--not the code embedded in her DNA. But even if she can learn to trust him, can Davy trust herself?

Product Details ISBN-10: 0062233653
ISBN-13: 9780062233653
Published: Harper Teen
Pages: 372
Language: English
Recommended Reading Level Minimum Age: 13
Maximum Age: UP
Minimum Grade Level: 8th Grade
Maximum Grade Level: Up