Crime of Privilege

Crime of Privilege (Paperback)

$15.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Indie Next List

July 2013
This terrific thriller about a young Cape Cod lawyer ensnared in the political machinations of those in power will bring to mind the best of Scott Turow and John Grisham. Nuanced and subtle, this engrossing page turner takes on themes of guilt, social class and responsibility while remaining 'unputdownable'. It is action-packed and exciting as well as being an intimate reflection on the sin of omission and the ways that our inaction can haunt us and color our lives. Thought-provoking but also great fun, I highly recommend it, especially to readers of Defending Jacob -- Tova Beiser, Brown University Bookstore, Providence, RI

Description


About the Author


Walter Walker is a trial lawyer in San Francisco. He lives in Marin County, California, and on Cape Cod.

Praise for Crime of Privilege…


“Walter Walker combines an experienced attorney’s sense of our flawed criminal justice system with a natural storyteller’s gift. Crime of Privilege is a twisting, engrossing, irresistible detective story.”—William Landay, author of Defending Jacob
 
“A stunning first legal thriller that is sure to get as much attention as John Grisham’s The Firmand Scott Turow’s Presumed Innocent . . . An outstanding crime story with spot-on characterization, a protagonist whose humiliating past compels sympathy, and a host of unexpected suspects. The novel’s moral complexity will appeal to readers who enjoyed works as diverse as Tom Wolfe’s Bonfire of the Vanities, Nelson DeMille’s The Gold Coast, and any number of contemporary thrillers.”Library Journal (starred review)
 
“Walter Walker’s Crime of Privilege is a terrifically entertaining race of a read that also effortlessly manages to be jam-packed with intelligence, insight, morality and heart. Top-notch and highly recommended!”New York Times bestselling author John Lescroart
 
“A gripping thriller . . . an unsettling, multilayered look at the insidious symbiosis between power and corruption.”Maclean’s

“Fans of John Grisham and Scott Turow especially will love this engrossing story of murder involving high society. The author’s wit, dry and cutting, is razor-sharp and somewhat reminiscent of Nelson DeMille’s John Corey. . . . Crime of Privilege qualifies as a tale of moral redemption, a legal thriller, and a murder mystery cloaked in pure enjoyment.”Bookreporter
 
Crime of Privilege is a privilege to read . . . an engaging, very well-paced novel . . . exciting and unpredictable.”Examiner.com

“A whodunit set in Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous . . . fast-paced with lots of sharp turns . . . You'll lose yourself in it.”The Guardian (U.K.)
 
“Nuanced and emotionally convincing . . . a subtle, well-paced thriller.”USA Today

“A slick, satisfying conspiracy novel where revenge tastes best served with a highball.”Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel
 
“A sheer pleasure to read . . . George must find his own moral compass, in a summer read notable for credible characters and unpredictable twists.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“A page-turning, puzzle-solving adventure.”Booklist
 
“Walker maintains his dry, sometimes biting humor and moral edge. . . . A convincing portrait of misbehavior among the rich and powerful.”Kirkus Reviews

Crime of Privilege is not only a first-class legal thriller, it is an astute examination of our society and how we are corrupted by power and money. The rich are indeed different; they get away with murder. An absolutely engrossing read from beginning to end. Not only is it a well told story of crime and punishment, but also a finely nuanced tale of sin and redemption.”—Nelson DeMille
 
Crime of Privilege is wonderfully written, and Walter Walker has a great talent, the God-given kind that can’t be taught or learned or acquired, and the reader knows it from the first paragraph of the book. The characters are complex and interesting yet also emblematic of all the players in the class war, which is the stuff of all epic stories. I love the protagonist, and I also love the portrayal of the world of the very rich. There is something about the very rich that is hard to describe, but Walter Walker got them in the camera’s lens perfectly.”—James Lee Burke
 
“A gripping, chilling tale that pits privilege against pride, with a not-entirely-innocent man caught in the untenable middle.”—Chris Pavone, New York Times bestselling author of The Expats

Product Details ISBN-10: 034554837X
ISBN-13: 9780345548375
Published: Ballantine Books
Pages: 432
Language: English