Eating My Feelings: Tales of Overeating, Underperforming, and Coping with My Crazy Family

Eating My Feelings: Tales of Overeating, Underperforming, and Coping with My Crazy Family (Paperback)

$16.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 days

Description


New from the author of Blackouts and Breakdowns--and in the tradition of Josh Kilmer-Purcell and Chelsea Handler--a collection of funny essays skewering the author's struggles with weight and body image, both as a kid in the 1980s and as a gay man in the 2000s.

Mark Rosenberg has had more ups and downs with his weight than Oprah--but unlike Oprah, no one gives a sh*t. Coming of age very outrageously as an overweight, soon-to-be gay kid, he learns to relate to others by way of his beloved Melrose Place and Clueless--which serves him well when exiled to fat camp and  faced with an opportunity to bribe an adulterous counselor or poison his stepmother by birthday cake--and thinks nothing of dressing as Homey the Clown (in blackface) for Halloween. This sets him up for adulthood in the image-obsessed world of gay men in New York City, where he hires personal trainers he wants to sleep with, applies an X-rated twist to Julie & Julia in an attempt to reach blogger stardom, and has an imaginary relationship with the man on the P90X workout infomercials that becomes a little bit too real. Hilarious, heartwarming (as if), and especially scandalous, Eating My Feelings leaves no stone unturned and no piece of red velvet cake uneaten.

About the Author


MARK BRENNAN ROSENBERG is the author of Blackouts and Breakdowns and writes the blog The Single Life. He currently resides in New York City and is single--so if you know of anyone, let him know.

Praise for Eating My Feelings: Tales of Overeating, Underperforming, and Coping with My Crazy Family…


"Hysterical! Mark Rosenberg is the gay, Jewish love child of Ignatius J. Reilly and Chelsea Handler."
--Alison Arngrim, New York Times bestselling author of Confessions of a Prairie Bitch

Product Details ISBN-10: 0385347804
ISBN-13: 9780385347808
Published: Three Rivers Press
Pages: 256
Language: English