The Mill River Recluse (Paperback)

Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


The sensational "New York Times "bestseller "The Mill River Recluse" reminds us that friendship, family, and love can come from the most unexpected places. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.
"Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader's Circle for author chats and more."
From the outside, Mill River looks like any sleepy little Vermont town where everyone knows everyone and people never need to lock their doors. There are newcomers for whom this appeals, from police officer Kyle Hansen and his daughter Rowen, who are starting over after heartache, to Claudia Simon, the schoolteacher who is determined to reinvent herself.
But on closer inspection, there are those in Mill River--including a stealthy arsonist, a covetous nurse, and a pilfering priest--who have things they wish to hide. None more than the widow Mary McAllister, who for the past sixty years has secluded herself in her marble mansion overlooking the town. Most of the residents have never even seen the peculiar woman. Only the priest, Father O'Brien, knows the deep secrets that keep Mary isolated--and that, once revealed, will forever change the community.
Praise for "The Mill River Recluse"
"A heartwarming story."--""
" Darcie] Chan's sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together."--"Kirkus Reviews"
"A real page-turner."--"IndieReader"
"Chan does an amazing job with pacing while maintaining continuity and weaving universal themes such as friendship, love, new beginnings and overcoming adversities into small town life."--"RT Book Reviews"
" "
"This debut novel is a genre-breaking thriller with romantic overtones that should appeal to both men and women."--"Huntington News"
" "
"Chan's compassionate novel . . . blends elements of mystery, suspense and romance . . . and] culminates in a beautifully rendered denouement that rekindles hope for a troubled world."--"Shelf Awareness.

Praise For…

“[Darcie] Chan’s sweet novel displays her talent. . . . A comforting book about the random acts of kindness that hold communities together.”Kirkus Reviews
“A heartwarming story.”

“A real page-turner.”—IndieReader

Product Details
ISBN: 9780553391879
ISBN-10: 0553391879
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Publication Date: June 17th, 2014
Pages: 416
Language: English