Native American Heritage Month Banner

Staff Picks

Braiding Sweetgrass cover image

Braiding Sweetgrass By Robin Wall Kimmerer

"This book is so beautifully written and well executed. Kimmerer delicately ‘weaves’ a personal memoir with Anishinaabe lore and ties both seamlessly into ecological science. The blend of these stories, memories, and explanations produces a truly compelling narrative." -Gwyneth, Detroit

ADD TO CARTGET THE AUDIOBOOK


Killers of the Flower Moon cover image

Killers of the Flower Moon By David Grann

"Shocking would be the word, if countless cases hadn’t proven how terrible people can be to each other. Monstrous might be better. Evil. Horrific. For fans of Erik Larson, Jon Krakauer, or Grann’s previous book, The Lost City of Z, Killers of the Flower Moon exposes a little known saga of American history, and the previously unknown extent of the conspiracy which spiraled out from those events. In an ironic turn, massive oil deposits were found on the remote reservation that the Osage tribe had been forced onto, making them the wealthiest people per capita in the world. Then, one by one, the Osage began to be killed off. Based on original research and primary sources, Killers is a nonfiction thriller that ranks in the absolute best of the genre." -Sara, Atlanta

ADD TO CARTGET THE AUDIOBOOK


Firekeeper's Daughter cover image

Firekeeper's Daughter By Angeline Boulley

"I was in love with this book before I even had a copy in my hands. I’ve read it twice and listened to it on audiobook because I wanted to hear the Anishinaabe words in Daunis' voice. This is part fish-out-of-water story, part over-coming-trauma, part murder mystery thriller, and all parts excellent. Firekeeper’s Daughter is the perfect counter-part to The Hate U Give with its details on the Indigenous experience, and examples of code-switching, this will definitely be a staple in the young adult genre for decades." -Gwyneth, Detroit

ADD TO CARTGET THE AUDIOBOOK

 

Fiction

Probably Ruby cover image
The Only Good Indians (Paperback) cover image
There There cover image
 
Love Medicine cover image
 
White Horse cover image
Perma Red cover image
 
 
 
 

Nonfiction

And Still the Waters Run cover image
Code Talker cover image
The Heartbeat of Wounded Knee cover image
 
Empire of the Summer Moon cover image
 
We Had a Little Real Estate Problem cover image
Our History is the Future cover image
 
 
 
 

Children and Young Adult

Hearts Unbroken cover image
Fry Bread cover image
Code Talker cover image
 
Still This Love Goes On cover image
 
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian cover image
Powwow Day cover image
 
 
 
 

Native American Heritage Month Audiobooks

National Book Awards

2022 National Book Awards

The National Book Award, established in 1950, recognizes excellence in literature across American publishing. Awarded each year by the National Book Foundation, the National Book Award recognizes literary excellence across 5 categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, Translated Literature, and Young People’s Literature. With a mission to “increase the readership and appreciation of great writing in America”, the National Book Awards have quickly gained a reputation as one of the most prestigious literary prizes in the world. Here you can find the 5 finalists in each category, and for a limited time you can order any of the finalists for 30% off. Check back here on November 16 to see the winners!

The Finalists

National Book Awards Fiction
The Rabbit Hutch cover image
The Haunting of Hajji Hotak cover image
 
The Birdcatcher cover image
 
All This Could Be Different cover image
The Town of Babylon cover image
 
 
 
 
 
National Book Awards NonFiction
The Invisible Kingdom cover image
South to America cover image
 
Breathless cover image
 
The Man Who Could Move Clouds cover image
His Name is George Floyd cover image
 
 
 
 
 
National Book Awards Poetry
Look at This Blue cover image
Punks cover image
 
Balladz cover image
 
Best Barbarian cover image
Rupture Tense cover image
 
 
 
 
 
National Book Awards Translated Literature
A New Name cover image
Kibogo cover image
 
Jawbone cover image
 
Seven Empty Houses cover image
Scattered All Over the Earth cover image
 
 
 
 
 
National Book Awards Young People's Literature
The Ogress and the Orphans cover image
The Lesbiana's Guide to Catholic School cover image
 
Victory. Stand! cover image
 
All My Rage cover image
Maizy Chen's Last Chance cover image
 
 
 
 

Candice Millard



Candice Millard is the author of four bestselling books and the winner of numerous literary awards. Her newest book, River of the Gods, harrowing story of one of the great feats of exploration of all time, was featured as our July Read of the Month. Candice gave us a list of some of her favorite books of some of her favorite reads, and told us a little bit about each one and what made it so special to her. Check out her book list below, and also see her other bestselling books!
 
 
 
 

 

Check Out Candice Millard's Recommended Reads

The Best Books of Summer 2022 featuring some of the best beach reads and books for your vacation are now on sale! Whether you’re reading on the beach or in the backyard, on a plane or by a pool, we have the perfect book to match your summer vibe. Check out our selection of some of the summer’s hottest paperbacks, both new releases and our favorite summer reads from year’s past, great for throwing in a beach bag or carry-on. Buy any 3 paperbacks from our Best of Summer collection and get 1 free! Just add 4 books to your cart and use the code B3G1 at checkout. We also have 30% off some of the summer’s best new hardcovers. Stock up on the best beach reads now and be set for a summer of reading!

Pages

Subscribe to Hudson Booksellers RSS