Twitter Logo
Instagram Logo
LinkedIn Logo

Lifeless (Tom Thorne Series #5) (Mass Market)

Lifeless (Tom Thorne Series #5) By Mark Billingham Cover Image
Not Available

Other Books in Series

This is book number 5 in the Tom Thorne Series series.


Tom Thorne's career is on the skids. Having seriously crossed the line on his last case and depressed over the recent suspicious death of his father, the once ambitious police detective has been reduced to pushing papers . . . and is being encouraged to take a prolonged leave of duty.

But someone is stalking the city's most destitute citizens. Three homeless men have recently been kicked to death, each brutalized corpse discovered with a banknote pinned to its chest. With nothing to lose, Thorne volunteers to try to find the killer—taking to the streets he knows so well from his days as beat policeman and as a homicide detective, but this time joining the squalid ranks of life's rejects. In this harsh and harrowing netherworld, with its own rules and moral codes, a shocking link between the brutal crimes and a fifteen-year-old atrocity could end up costing Thorne what little life he has left.

About the Author

Mark Billingham is the author of nine novels, including Sleepyhead, Scaredy Cat, Lazybones, The Burning Girl, Lifeless, and Buried—all Times (London) bestsellers—as well as the stand-alone thriller In the Dark. For the creation of the Tom Thorne character, Billingham received the 2003 Sherlock Award for Best Detective created by a British writer, and he has twice won the Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. He has previously worked as an actor and stand-up comedian on British television and still writes regularly for the BBC. He lives in London with his wife and two children.

Praise For…

“a complex crime thriller...”LIFELESS” is anything but.” — New York Daily News

“LIFELESS is his best novel yet: complex, thought-provoking, moving and, in parts, very funny.... A tour de force.” — The Observer

“A moody, brooding treat.” — Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9780060841676
ISBN-10: 0060841672
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: May 29th, 2007
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Tom Thorne Series