The Art of Racing in the Rain: A Novel (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Art of Racing in the Rain: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews



If you like dogs, you will LOVE this book. It's told from the viewpoint of a dog. He believes he will be reincarnated as a human (he saw it on TV once) so he tries to act more human. He wants to help his family with their problems, but he can only watch their trouble unfold and lament his lack of opposable thumbs.

— Sheri, Raleigh

This is one of the best books I’ve read recently. I resisted picking it up because I didn’t think there was room in the world for another “my dog changed my life” book. This is different. Enzo is not another precious dog; he’s a character I’d like to hang out with. This book will break your heart and give you hope. I have loved a dog, been loved by a dog and (a little brag here) driven a racecar on a track. Garth Stein makes me want to do those things again and then tell everybody about it.

— Sydne, Atlanta

Description


The New York Times bestselling novel from Garth Steina heart-wrenching but deeply funny and ultimately uplifting story of a dog’s efforts to hold together his family in the face of a divisive custody battle.

Enzo knows he is different from other dogs: a philosopher with a nearly human soul (and an obsession with opposable thumbs), he has educated himself by watching television extensively, and by listening very closely to the words of his master, Denny Swift, an up-and-coming race car driver.

Through Denny, Enzo has gained tremendous insight into the human condition, and he sees that life, like racing, isn't simply about going fast. Using the techniques needed on the race track, one can successfully navigate all of life's ordeals.

On the eve of his death, Enzo takes stock of his life, recalling all that he and his family have been through: the sacrifices Denny has made to succeed professionally; the unexpected loss of Eve, Denny's wife; the three-year battle over their daughter, Zoë, whose maternal grandparents pulled every string to gain custody. In the end, despite what he sees as his own limitations, Enzo comes through heroically to preserve the Swift family, holding in his heart the dream that Denny will become a racing champion with Zoë at his side. Having learned what it takes to be a compassionate and successful person, the wise canine can barely wait until his next lifetime, when he is sure he will return as a man.

Praise For…


“One of those stories that may earn its place next to Richard Bach’s Jonathan Livingston Seagull, Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist, and Yann Martel’s Life of Pi.”

“Splendid.”

“Fans of Marley & Me, rejoice.”

The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and—most especially—the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human. I loved this book.”

“The perfect book for anyone who knows that some of our best friends walk beside us on four legs; that compassion isn’t only for humans; and that the relationship between two souls...meant for each other never really comes to an end.”

“The Art of Racing in The Rain has everything: love, tragedy, redemption, danger, and--most especially--the canine narrator Enzo. This old soul of a dog has much to teach us about being human.”

“I savored Garth Stein’s The Art of Racing in the Rain for many reasons: a dog who speaks, the thrill of competitive racing, a heart-tugging storyline, and--best of all--the fact that it is a meditation on humility and hope in the face of despair.”


Product Details
ISBN: 9780061537967
ISBN-10: 0061537969
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: June 9th, 2009
Pages: 336
Language: English