Uninvited (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Uninvited Cover Image
$11.19
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


The year is March 15, 2021 and crime is on the rise. At first the government started testing just the known criminals and the unwanted. Then they started testing ever person for the HTS gene, a known gene found in criminals. Davy Hamilton is a rich girl, a music prodigy, the girlfriend of the most popular guy at school—and now a known carrier. Everything changes for Davy. She loses her friends, her boyfriend, and her future. One test changed it all.
Sean O’Rourke has been labeled and tested since he was a child. A foster care kid, he has no problem living up to who he is. Sean is used to being on his own and surviving life as an HTS. When a mass shooting occurs, the government decides to round up all the criminals and lock them together. But those who have potential are separated from the others, trained and groomed to be killers.
The main focus of this book is: what is stronger, our DNA or our environment? Would these kids have been criminals anyway or did society create them? Many of the kids in the story do not have violent tendencies until put into the situation of survival. We all have potential for violence in us and this exploits the notion of having a label on the outside for all to see. The scariest part of this book is this situation could easily happen. DNA testing is so prevalent now and all it would take is a government using that against us. The love story is an added bonus. This is book 1 of a series and I literally cannot wait for book 2. So, Sophie Jordan, if you ever read this, help me out please.

— Rosa, New Jersey

Description


From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Confessions of a Murder Suspect.

Davy had everything—a terrific boyfriend, the homecoming crown, a bright future at Juilliard—but when her genetic tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, she loses it all. Uninvited from her prestigious school, avoided by her friends and family, she is placed in a special class with other "carriers" who are treated like the murderers they someday might become.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life and tells her that she alone controls her actions—not the code embedded into her DNA. But even if she can learn to trust him, can Davy trust herself?

About the Author


Sophie Jordan grew up on a pecan farm in the Texas hill country, where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she's also the New York Times bestselling author of Avon historical romances and the Firelight series. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she's not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes and Diet cherry Coke preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with true-crime and reality-TV shows.

Praise For…


UNINVITED asks the question: will you let the world define who you are or will you choose to define yourself? Put simply: I loved this book!
— Carrie Ryan, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth series

A riveting, disconcerting vision of a near–future corrupted by genetic profiling. Thoroughly unputdownable.
— Rachel Vincent, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author

“this fast-paced story is a solid addition to the dystopian genre.”
— Booklist

Praise for the Firelight series: “The Firelight series is a rare sparkling gem. I delved into the mystical world and discovered a fast–paced, gripping story. …Anytime my readers ask for a book recommendation, I always say, ‘Read Sophie Jordan!’”
— Colleen Houck, author of NEW YORK TIMES bestselling TIGER’S CURSE

“Firelight soars to dizzying heights, combining forbidden love, scorching romance, and thrilling danger.”
— Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormalcy Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormalcy Kiersten White, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of PARANORMALCY

“Magnificent and masterful! A world so captivating, you’ll never want to leave!”
— Kerrelyn Sparks, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author on FIRELIGHT

“Jordan’s compelling addition to the supernatural star–crossed lovers theme is equal parts taut suspense and sensuous romance.”
— Booklist Booklist on FIRELIGHT

“Just surrender to the sizzle.”
— Kirkus Reviews on FIRELIGHT

“This imaginative and intense story leaves you wanting more.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) on VANISH


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062233646
ISBN-10: 0062233645
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: January 27th, 2015
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Uninvited