The Seventh Plague: A Sigma Force Novel (Sigma Force Novels #12) (Large Print / Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Seventh Plague: A Sigma Force Novel (Sigma Force Novels #12) Cover Image
Check Availability Status
Out of Stock

Staff Reviews


When a project involving analyzing mummies from an ancient archeological Egyptian site goes awry, a curse begins to unfold that only James Rollins can transliterate. This strong character-driven Sigma Force novel unravels the mystery behind a horrid death involving a bizarre mummification ritual that had taken place before death. Rollins places the reader in a fictional whirlwind of omens, Egyptology, and man-made plagues that are capable of wiping out human kind. Preparation of immortal vessels along with Scarab Beetles named by none other than Charles Darwin are only just a few of the thrilling Egyptian lore stapled within the pages of James Rollins latest venture.

— Mike, Albuquerque

Description


If the biblical plagues of Egypt truly happened—could they happen again—on a global scale?

Two years after vanishing into the Sudanese desert, the leader of a British archeological expedition, Professor Harold McCabe, comes stumbling out, but he dies before he can tell his story. The mystery deepens when an autopsy uncovers a bizarre corruption: someone had begun to mummify the professor’s body—while he was still alive.

Professor McCabe had vanished while searching for proof of the ten plagues of Moses. And when the medical team who performed the man’s autopsy falls ill with an unknown disease, a disturbing question arises.

Are those plagues starting again?

Seeking answers, Commander Grayson Pierce and Sigma Force travel from the plague-ridden streets of Cairo, to an ancient tomb buried under the sands of the Sudan, to a remote Arctic engineering complex housing a mad genius. But time is running out to confront a threat born of the ancient past and made real by the latest science—a danger that will unleash a cascading series of plagues, culminating in a scourge that could kill all of the world’s children . . . decimating mankind forever.

About the Author


James Rollins is the author of international thrillers that have been translated into more than forty languages. His Sigma series has been lauded as one of the “top crowd pleasers” (New York Times) and one of the "hottest summer reads" (People magazine). In each novel, acclaimed for its originality, Rollins unveils unseen worlds, scientific breakthroughs, and historical secrets—and he does it all at breakneck speed and with stunning insight. He lives in the Sierra Nevada mountains.

Praise For…


“Bestseller Rollins’s epic 12th Sigma Force adventure features exotic locales, heroic quests, quixotic villains, action galore, and enough science and scientific curiosities to titillate even casual readers...Rollins’s characters are as large as his landscape in this vast and vastly entertaining thriller saga.”
— Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“When it comes to the blending of action, adventure, history, and science, there is no other author who does it better than Rollins. Fans of Clive Cussler, Steve Berry, and Michael Crichton should already have Rollins on their mandatory reading list.”
— Booklist (starred review)


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062381712
ISBN-10: 0062381717
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Publication Date: December 13th, 2016
Pages: 704
Language: English
Series: Sigma Force Novels