The Dread (The Fallen Kings Cycle #2) (Mass Market)

The Dread (The Fallen Kings Cycle #2) Cover Image
Not Available

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Fallen Kings Cycle series.


In the epic conclusion to the Fallen Kings Cycle, set in the world of The Chronicles of the Necromancer, war has come to the Winter Kingdoms.

Summoner-King Tris Drayke takes what remains of his army north for a war he is ill-prepared to fight, as reports from spies confirm Tris's worst fear. A new threat rises across the sea: a dark summoner who intends to make the most of the Winter Kingdoms' weakness.

In Isencroft, Kiara's father is assassinated, and she has no choice except to return and claim the crown. But she must leave behind her husband and their infant son to face the dark power that threatens her rule.

The Dread will rise. Kings will fall.
The Chronicles of the Necromancer
The Summoner
The Blood King
Dark Haven
Dark Lady’s Chosen
Fallen Kings Cycle
The Sworn
The Drea

About the Author

Gail Z. Martin discovered her passion for SF/fantasy in elementary school. The first story she wrote -- at age five -- was about a vampire. Her favorite TV show as a preschooler was Dark Shadows. At age fourteen she decided to become a writer. She enjoys attending SF/Fantasy conventions, Renaissance fairs and living history sites. She is married and has three children, a Himalayan cat and a golden retriever.

Praise For…

"Fans of Martin's previous series as well as those who enjoy the large-scale fantasy of George R.R. Martin and Robert Jordan should enjoy this series opener."—Library Journal

"Gail Z. Martin has a good grasp of pacing, and tells a fast-paced tale laced with plenty of action."—SF Site on The Summoner

"The Summoner is a pleasant and enjoyable read that any lover of fantasy should enjoy."—Midwest Book Review on The Summoner

"I loved this story from beginning to end. Packed with suspense, excitement, and colorful characters, The Summoner is a true epic fantasy."— on The Summoner

Product Details
ISBN: 9780316093613
ISBN-10: 0316093610
Publisher: Orbit
Publication Date: February 1st, 2012
Pages: 640
Language: English
Series: The Fallen Kings Cycle