SHIPPING GUIDELINES
Due to increased holiday traffic, we recommend placing your order by these dates to receive your shipment by Christmas:
12/10 - USPS Media Mail   |   12/14 - USPS Priority Mail   |   12/17 - UPS 2nd Day Air

Ways to Disappear (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Ways to Disappear Cover Image
$28.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


In the first paragraph of Ways to Disappear, a famous Brazilian novelist climbs into a tree with a suitcase and a cigar, and disappears. Her American translator drops everything to follow her trail. Author Idra Novey has translated works by Brazilian authors such as Clarice Lispector, and employs this metafictional conceit remarkably well. Ways to Disappear is a clever and entertaining blend of mystery, romance, and (of course) surrealism, which also speculates on the nature of translation. It’s just shy of brilliant, and I enjoyed it immensely.

— Sara, Atlanta

Description


Winner of the Sami Rohr Prize in Fiction

Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for First Fiction

NPR Best Book of 2016
Buzzfeed Best Debut of 2016
BUST Magazine Best Book of 2016

Winner of the 2016 Brooklyn Eagles Literary Prize for Fiction

New York Times Editors' Choice

2016 Barnes & Noble Discover selection

"An elegant page-turner....Charges forward with the momentum of a bullet." --New York Times Book Review

For fans of Robin Sloan's Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore and Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette, an inventive, brilliant debut novel about the disappearance of a famous Brazilian novelist and the young translator who turns her life upside down to follow her author's trail.

Beatriz Yagoda was once one of Brazil's most celebrated authors. At the age of sixty, she is mostly forgotten-until one summer afternoon when she enters a park in Rio de Janeiro, climbs into an almond tree, and disappears.

When her devoted translator Emma hears the news in wintry Pittsburgh, she flies to the sticky heat of Rio. There she joins the author's son and daughter to solve the mystery of Yagoda's disappearance and satisfy the demands of the colorful characters left in her wake, including a loan shark with a debt to collect and the washed-up editor who launched Yagoda's career. What they discover is how much of her they never knew.

Exquisitely imagined and as profound as it is suspenseful, Ways to Disappear is at once a thrilling story of intrigue and a radiant novel of self-reckoning.

About the Author


Idra Novey is an award-winning poet and translator. Born in western Pennsylvania, she has since lived in Chile, Brazil, and New York. Her collection Exit, Civilian was selected for the 2011 National Poetry Series. She currently teaches in the Creative Writing Program at Princeton University. This is her first novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316298490
ISBN-10: 0316298492
Publisher: Little Brown and Company
Publication Date: February 9th, 2016
Pages: 272
Language: English