It All Comes Down to This (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
It All Comes Down to This Cover Image
$7.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A powerful middle grade coming-of-age novel set in a slowly integrating upper middle class Los Angeles neighborhood in the summer of 1965, from a Coretta Scott King Honor Award–winning author. Perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Sharon M. Draper.

It’s 1965, Los Angeles. Sophie is the new black kid in a nearly all-white neighborhood; her beloved sister, Lily, is going away to college soon; and her parents’ marriage is rocky. Plus, there’s her family’s new, disapproving housekeeper to deal with. Then riots erupt in nearby Watts and a friend is unfairly arrested, and Sophie learns that life—and her own place in it—is even more complicated than she’d once thought.

“Honest, witty . . . relatable. Unfairness and race-consciousness run through the story—so do surprises. Bigotry wears many guises. Kindness does too.” —Wall Street Journal

“Thoughtful and well-wrought . . . . Compassionate, pointed, and empowering.” —Booklist, starred review

“An impressive coming-of-age story.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Reveals how an impressionable and intelligent child learns from the injustices that touch her, her family, and her friends.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

About the Author


Karen English is a Coretta Scott King Honor Award-winner and the author of It All Comes Down to This, a Kirkus Prize Finalist, as well as the Nikki and Deja and The Carver Chronicles series. Her novels have been praised for their accessible writing, authentic characters, and satisfying storylines. She is a former elementary school teacher and lives in Los Angeles, California.

Praise For…


A Kirkus Prize Finalist

"Honest, witty...relatable. Unfairness and race-consciousness run through the story—so do surprises. Bigotry wears many guises. Kindness does too." —Wall Street Journal

* "Satisfying." —SLJ, starred

* "Thoughtful and well-wrought...compassionate, pointed, and empowering." —Booklist, starred

* "An impressive coming-of-age story." —Kirkus Reviews, starred

* "Reveals how an impressionable and intelligent child learns from the injustices that touch her, her family, and her friends." —PW, starred

"The perspective of an upper-middle-class African American family is an unusual and welcome one. Fans of Rita Williams-Garcia will enjoy this moving, frank novel." —Horn Book


Product Details
ISBN: 9780358098539
ISBN-10: 035809853X
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: December 17th, 2019
Pages: 368