The Patient (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Patient Cover Image
$23.00
Future Publication - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


The Silent Patient by way of Stephen King: Parker, a young, overconfident psychiatrist new to his job at a mental asylum, miscalculates catastrophically when he undertakes curing a mysterious and profoundly dangerous patient.

In a series of online posts, Parker H., a young psychiatrist, chronicles the harrowing account of his time working at a dreary mental hospital in New England. Through this internet message board, Parker hopes to communicate with the world his effort to cure one bewildering patient.

We learn, as Parker did on his first day at the hospital, of the facility’s most difficult, profoundly dangerous case—a forty-year-old man who was originally admitted to the hospital at age six. This patient has no known diagnosis. His symptoms seem to evolve over time. Every person who has attempted to treat him has been driven to madness or suicide.

Desperate and fearful, the hospital’s directors keep him strictly confined and allow minimal contact with staff for their own safety, convinced that releasing him would unleash catastrophe on the outside world. Parker, brilliant and overconfident, takes it upon himself to discover what ails this mystery patient and finally cure him. But from his first encounter with the mystery patient, things spiral out of control, and, facing a possibility beyond his wildest imaginings, Parker is forced to question everything he thought he knew.

Fans of Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes and Paul Tremblay’s The Cabin at the End of the World will be riveted by Jasper DeWitt’s astonishing debut.

About the Author


JASPER DEWITT lives in New York City. This is his first novel.

Praise For…


“‘Insidious evil’ is such an overused term, but there is no other way to describe what prowls the hallways of this riveting novella. A compulsive read I devoured in one day. And the ending . . . it still haunts me.”
—F. Paul Wilson, New York Times best-selling creator of the Repairman Jack series

The Patient is a fascinating and frightening read that comes at you like the monster under your bed.”
—Reed Farrel Coleman, New York Times bestselling author


Product Details
ISBN: 9780358181767
ISBN-10: 0358181763
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication Date: July 7th, 2020
Pages: 224