Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir Cover Image
This book is not available for purchase.
Out of Stock

Staff Reviews


On some level each of us wants to 'fit in'. Some of us achieve that goal, some of us don't and then there is Jenny Lawson. Her "mostly true memoir" is one of the few books I have read that has made me laugh out loud and the ONLY book that made me call various friends around the country to read chapters to them over the phone. My long suffering husband actually asked me to refrain from reading it in bed because, not only was I laughing so hard I was disturbing his beauty sleep, I kept reading passages out loud to him further interrupting said beauty sleep (the chapter entitled "A Series Of Helpful Post-it Notes I Left Around The House for My Husband This Week" was a big hit in that regard). By the end of the book you will not only have laughed yourself into an acute tizzy but you will also feel like you have found the friend that all of us a truly looking for, the friend that can appreciate and point out the absurdities in life but the friend that makes you feel like you truly do fit in.

— Shannon, Chicago

May 2012 Indie Next List


“I just can't recommend Lawson's new memoir highly enough! However, my recommendation does come with a warning: Do not read this in public unless you want others staring at you and wondering if you've gone mad because you're laughing hysterically. The daughter of an off-kilter taxidermist and a mother, who, for the most part, turned her head the other way, Jenny has her issues resulting from standing inside a dead deer at a young age, growing up with live raccoons in the house, and being an arsonist at the age of three. Those embarrassing moments that we all wished had never happened? Well, Jenny tells all. Laughter really is the best medicine, so make sure you don't miss this one!”
— Linda Grana, DIESEL, A Bookstore, Oakland, CA

Description


For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
 
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

About the Author


Jenny Lawson is a columnist and one of the most popular bloggers on Twitter (hundreds of thousands of followers). Her blog, www.thebloggess.com, averages between 2-3 million page views per month. Jenny lives in the Texas Hill Country with her husband and daughter.

Praise For…


"Even when I was funny, I wasn't this funny."  —Augusten Burroughs, author of Running With Scissors and This is How

“There’s something wrong with Jenny Lawson—magnificently wrong. I defy you to read her work and not hurt yourself laughing.” —Jen Lancaster




“The Bloggess writes stuff that actually is laugh-out-loud, but you know that really you shouldn’t be laughing and probably you’ll go to hell for laughing, so maybe you shouldn’t read it. That would be safer and wiser.” —Neil Gaiman

“Jenny Lawson is hilarious, snarky, witty, totally inappropriate, and ‘Like Mother Teresa, Only Better.’” —Marie Claire magazine

“Jenny Lawson’s writing is nothing less than revolutionary. . . . I say this without a hint of exaggeration: She may be one of the most progressive women’s voices of our time.” —Karen Walrond, author of The Beauty of Different

Let's Pretend This Never Happened won Goodread’s Best Humor Book of 2012 and was chosen as one of Hudson Bookseller’s Best Books of 2012

Product Details
ISBN: 9780399159015
ISBN-10: 0399159010
Publisher: Amy Einhorn Books
Publication Date: April 17th, 2012
Pages: 318
Language: English