Twitter Logo
Instagram Logo
LinkedIn Logo

Whispers Beyond the Veil (A Change of Fortune Mystery #1) (Paperback)

Whispers Beyond the Veil (A Change of Fortune Mystery #1) By Jessica Estevao Cover Image
Not Available

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the A Change of Fortune Mystery series.


First in a dazzling new historical mystery series featuring Ruby Proulx, a psychic with a questionable past who suddenly finds her future most uncertain...

Canada, 1898. The only life Ruby Proulx has ever known is that of a nomad, traveling across the country with her snake-oil salesman father. She dreams of taking root somewhere, someday, but, until she can, she makes her way by reading tarot cards. Yet she never imagined her own life would take such a turn…
After one of her father’s medical “miracles” goes deadly wrong, Ruby evades authorities by hiding in the seaside resort town of Old Orchard, Maine, where her estranged aunt, Honoria, owns the Hotel Belden, a unique residence that caters to Spiritualists—a place where Ruby should be safe as long as she can keep her dark secret hidden.
But Ruby’s plan begins to crumble after a psychic investigator checks into the hotel and senses Ruby is hiding more than she’s letting on. Now Ruby must do what she can to escape both his attention and Aunt Honoria’s insistence that she has a true gift, before she loses her precious new home and family forever…

About the Author

Jessica Estevao is the author of the Change of Fortune Mysteries and, writing as Jessie Crockett, the Sugar Grove Mysteries.

Praise For…

"Old Orchard, Maine, at the turn of the 20th century provides the setting for Estevao's excellent series launch. The richness of the character backstories allows Estevao to strike a perfect balance, neither relying on a deus ex machina ending nor telegraphing the solution too early."

“You’ll love the not-so-innocent heroine of this delightful new series where no one and nothing is quite what it seems. Intriguing Ruby Proulx pretends to be a medium, but is she really pretending? And whom can she trust among the many new people she meets? Jessica Estevao will keep you guessing until the very last page!”—Victoria Thompson, national bestselling author of Murder in Morningside Heights

“Exciting and engrossing...a great read with a delightful heroine and a wonderful setting.”—Emily Brightwell, New York Times bestselling author of the Mrs. Jeffries Mysteries

Product Details
ISBN: 9780425281604
ISBN-10: 0425281604
Publisher: Berkley
Publication Date: September 6th, 2016
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: A Change of Fortune Mystery