Twitter Logo
Instagram Logo
LinkedIn Logo

Beneath the Swirling Sky (The Restorationists) (Paperback)

Beneath the Swirling Sky (The Restorationists) By Carolyn Leiloglou, Vivienne To (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Carolyn Leiloglou, Vivienne To (Illustrator)
$9.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A house full of paintings, a missing sister, and a family secret send a boy and his cousin into a world where art is the key in this fantasy adventure perfect for fans of The Wingfeather Saga and Pages & Co.

“A delightful adventure, excellent for reading aloud. This book will make you want to study Van Gogh and get out the paintbrushes!”—Sarah Mackenzie, founder and host of Read-Aloud Revival® and author of The Read-Aloud Family

After an experience he’d rather forget, Vincent is determined to be done with art. So when he and his little sister, Lili, spend spring break with their art conservator great-uncle, Vincent's plan is to stay glued to his phone.

That is, until Lili disappears into one of the world's most famous paintings and Vincent learns his parents have been hiding something from him: Their family is the last of The Restorationists, a secret society with the power to travel through paintings—and a duty to protect them from evil forces.

With Lili’s safety on the line, leaving art behind is no longer an option. Vincent must team up with his know-it-all second-cousin Georgia, wrestle with why his parents lied to him, and confront both his past and a future he never wanted. Young readers are invited into a captivating universe where paintings become a portal—and adventure and danger lurk beyond every canvas.

About the Author


Carolyn Leiloglou is the granddaughter of art collectors, daughter of an art teacher, and homeschooling mom to four wildly creative kids. She’s an award-winning author whose poems and short stories have appeared in children’s magazines around the world. Carolyn also reviews her favorite children's books on her online platform, House full of Bookworms.

Vivienne To is a New Zealand-based illustrator and artist who has designed several animated feature films and created illustrations for many middle grade books. When she isn't drawing, Vivienne can be found knitting on the couch, watching cute dogs at the local park, or reading in the children's section of the library.

Praise For…


“Colorful descriptions will send curious readers searching for images of the paintings mentioned, while discussions of art as a vehicle for the expression of truth and beauty add depth to a plot . . . [Vivienne] To’s expressive, delicately rendered illustrations enhance the text.”Kirkus Reviews

“A delightful adventure, excellent for reading aloud. This book will make you want to study Van Gogh and get out the paintbrushes!”—Sarah Mackenzie, founder and host of Read-Aloud Revival and author of The Read-Aloud Family

“This carefully composed story is certain to captivate and delight your creative kids.”—S. D. Smith, author of the Green Ember series

Beneath the Swirling Sky adds to the literary canon that blends art and mystery, such as From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler and Chasing Vermeer. An art adventure woven with truth and beauty.”—Megan Saben, associate editor for Redeemed Reader and author of Something Better Coming

“What a timely tale of uplifting the good and slow work of art-making. Carolyn Leiloglou sets out to restore humanity’s fractured connection with history’s great painters, and she pulls young readers in so close to historic works of art that they can almost smell the paint.”—Joe Sutphin, illustrator of the Wingfeather Saga, Little Pilgrim’s Progress, and the official graphic novelization of Watership Down
 
“A truly absorbing tale that drew me into the colorful and mysterious world, kindling my imagination—and heart—all along the way.”—Scott James, author of The Sower, The Littlest Watchman, The Expected One, and Where Is Wisdom?
 
“A captivating story that paints relatable childhood struggles against a background of brilliant adventure.”—James D. Witmer, managing editor of Story Warren and author of A Year in the Big Old Garden and The Strange New Dog


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593579541
ISBN-10: 0593579542
Publisher: WaterBrook
Publication Date: September 12th, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: The Restorationists