The Road to Little Dribbling: Adventures of an American in Britain (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Road to Little Dribbling: Adventures of an American in Britain Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews

Bill Bryson’s The Road to Little Dribbling is something of a sequel, written after 20 years, to just one of his many bestselling travel books: Notes from a Small Island. He is once again traveling around Britain by bus, train and on foot, and experiencing all the joy and pain traveling can entail. His writing makes sharing in his adventures a humorous ride for seasoned & armchair travelers alike and the perceptive insights he shares on the sights & sites he visits make this book a delight to read. Bill Bryson’s Road to Little Dribbling is classic Bryson laugh-out-loud funny and heartwarming.

— Anne, Atlanta


In 1995, Iowa native Bill Bryson took a motoring trip around Britain to explore that green and pleasant land. The uproarious book that resulted, Notes from a Small Island, is one of the most acute portrayals of the United Kingdom ever written. Two decades later, Bryson--now a British citizen--set out again to rediscover his adopted country. In these pages, he follows a straight line through the island--from Bognor Regis to Cape Wrath--and shows us every pub, stone village, and human foible along the way.

Whether he is dodging cow attacks in Torcross, getting lost in the H&M on Kensington High Street, or--more seriously--contemplating the future of the nation's natural wonders in the face of aggressive development, Bryson guides us through the old and the new with vivid detail and laugh-out-loud humor. Irreverent, endearing, and always hilarious, The Road to Little Dribbling is filled with Bill Bryson's deep knowledge and love of his chosen home.

About the Author

Bill Bryson's bestselling books include A Walk in the Woods (now a major motion picture starring Robert Redford and Nick Nolte), Notes from a Small Island, I'm a Stranger Here Myself, In a Sunburned Country, A Short History of Nearly Everything (which earned him the 2004 Aventis Prize), The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid, At Home, and One Summer. He lives in England with his wife.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780804172714
ISBN-10: 0804172714
Publisher: Anchor Books
Publication Date: October 25th, 2016
Pages: 400
Language: English