Things That Grow (Hardcover)

Things That Grow Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


After her grandmother dies, a girl travels to different gardens to scatter her ashes, learning about life and love along the way. From Love Letters advice columnist and podcast host Meredith Goldstein, this emotionally resonant novel with a touch of humor is perfect for fans of Robin Benway and Jenna Evans Welch.

When Lori’s Dorothy Parker–loving grandmother dies, Lori’s world is turned upside down. Grandma Sheryl was everything to Lori—and not just because Sheryl raised Lori when Lori’s mom got a job out of town. Now Lori’s mom is insisting on moving her away from her beloved Boston right before senior year. Desperate to stay for as long as possible, Lori insists on honoring her grandmother’s last request before she moves: to scatter Sheryl’s ashes near things that grow.

Along with her uncle Seth and Chris, best friend and love-of-her-life crush, Lori sets off on a road trip to visit her grandmother’s favorite gardens. Dodging forest bathers, scandalized volunteers, and angry homeowners, they come to terms with the shape of life after Grandma Sheryl. Saying goodbye isn’t easy, but Lori might just find a way to move forward surrounded by the people she loves.

About the Author


Meredith Goldstein has written Love Letters, The Boston Globe’s relationship advice column, for more than 10 years. She also writes feature stories and hosts the Globe's popular Love Letters podcast. Meredith’s books include Chemistry Lessons, The Singles, Can’t Help Myself: Lessons and Confessions From a Modern Advice Columnist. Meredith was born in New Jersey, raised in Maryland, and lives in Boston with a carnival-size cotton candy machine.
MeredithGoldstein.com
Twitter: @MeredithGoldste

Praise For…


★ "Goldstein’s writing is lively and often hilarious...but it’s also sensitive in its exploration of character facets such as Lori’s reluctance to confess her romantic feelings to Chris, respectful in its treatment of Lori’s writing and Chris’ art, and genuinely poignant as the family grieves."—Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Full of emotion and, at times, surprisingly humorous, this novel explores the devastating impact of loss and the different ways people are affected by grief. While serving up an honest depiction of loss, this novel provides the perfect balance between the serious and the lighthearted." —School Library Journal

"Sharp wit and clever details pull this story out of the weeds of becoming just another grief narrative, and Goldstein’s writing blossoms in its portrayal of messy, complicated relationships....A charming story that promises to delight."—Kirkus

"Goldstein’s latest (Chemistry Lessons, 2018) offers doses of humor amid a story that explores grief and growth…. Readers with an interest in complicated relationships, grief, and contemporary stories of the heart... will cherish Things That Grow.”—Booklist


"Never has a book about scattering ashes been so full of life! Goldstein tackles grief with a sense of humor that will make you appreciate being alive—and also haunt you with the knowledge that there are human cremains lurking in every baseball stadium ever." —Gabby Noone, best-selling author of Layoverland

"A tender story about family, love, and the beauty of the impermanent. Thing That Grow will tug at your heartstrings (and make you want to take a road trip through New England.)" —Goldy Moldavsky, author of Kill The Boy Band, No Good Deed, and The Mary Shelley Club

 


Product Details
ISBN: 9781328770103
ISBN-10: 1328770109
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: March 9th, 2021
Pages: 336
Language: English