The Yard (Large Print / Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Yard Cover Image
Check Availability Status
Out of Print

Staff Reviews


Excellent historical fiction with an edge-of-your-seat mystery. The story centers on Scotland Yard just after the time of Jack the Ripper. The city is growing too fast for its own good, and the much-needed police force is not trusted because of their failure to solve the Ripper case- and now it looks like there may be another mass murderer surfacing. With the help of early forensics techniques, our heroes must track down a twisted killer and keep the unappreciative public safe.

— Sheri, Raleigh

June 2012 Indie Next List


“Hard on the heels of the failure of the Metropolitan police to catch Jack the Ripper, a London bobby is found murdered in a horrific fashion. With a style that is light and witty, juxtaposed with the grimness of the underbelly of 19th century London, Grecian has concocted a delightful recreation of the early days of Scotland Yard. Action, suspense, with characters both unsavory and sympathetic -- this is a joy to read!”
— Jennie Turner-Collins, Joseph-Beth Booksellers, Cincinnati, OH

Description


Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only twelve detectives--known as "The Murder Squad"--to investigate countless murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police's spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own . . . one of the twelve . . .

When Walter Day, the squad's newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard's first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad . . . but why?Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of "The Sherlockian" and "The Alienist."

About the Author


Alex Grecian is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed graphic novel series Proof. He lives in the Midwest with his wife and son. "The Yard" is his first novel.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781410448620
ISBN-10: 1410448622
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Publication Date: June 1st, 2012
Pages: 681
Language: English
Series: Thorndike Core