The Flood Girls (Thorndike Basic) (Large Print / Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Flood Girls (Thorndike Basic) Cover Image
Not Available

Staff Reviews

At times humorous and heart-wrenching, Flood Girls by Richard Fifield tells the story of Rachel Flood, who's come home to Quinn, Montana after nine years to do whatever it takes to make amends to a mother who's never forgiven her, and a town that's never forgotten. Fifield's brilliant novel asks the most important of questions. What's more important? Redemption or reconciliation?
— Jacob, DEN

February 2016 Indie Next List

“Rachel Flood moves back home to a rural anywhere town: Quinn, Montana. In Quinn, dirty bars breed dirty people, and Rachel struggles to find kindness in a place that kindness seems to have abandoned. These are the '90s, and these are the women -- crude and unapologetic -- who carry Fifield's debut to its shocking, though perhaps necessary, end with the harsh winds that slam across Montana's eastern prairie. Booze, softball, western wildlife, bar fights -- and the clothes! The music!”
— Lauren Korn (W), Fact & Fiction, Missoula, MT


February 2016 Indie Next List Pick
This snappy, sassy redemption story set in small-town Montana is a wild and crazy debut novel by a talented young writer (Jackie Collins), filled with an uproarious and unforgettable cast of characters you won t want to leave behind.
"The Flood Girls"] includes barfights and AA meetings, a parade, a wedding, and a black bear, all of which Fifield juggles beautifully...The Wild West earns its name all over again in this lovable chronicle of small-town insanity. "Kirkus Reviews," Starred Review
Welcome to Quinn, Montana, population: 956. A town where nearly all of the volunteer firemen are named Jim, where The Dirty Shame the only bar in town refuses to serve mixed drinks (too much work), where the locals hate the newcomers (then again, they hate the locals, too), and where the town softball team has never even come close to having a winning season. Until now.
Rachel Flood has snuck back into town after leaving behind a trail of chaos nine years prior. She's here to make amends, but nobody wants to hear it, especially her mother, Laverna. But with the help of a local boy named Jake and a little soul-searching, she just might make things right.
In the spirit of "Empire Falls" and "A League of Their Own, " with the caustic wit of "Where d You Go, Bernadette" thrown in for good measure, Richard Fifield's hilarious and heartwarming debut will have you laughing through tears.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781410490629
ISBN-10: 1410490629
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Publication Date: June 8th, 2016
Pages: 562
Language: English
Series: Thorndike Basic