Twitter Logo
Instagram Logo
LinkedIn Logo

The Lady Takes on London (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Lady Takes on London By Madeline Hunter Cover Image
$16.95
Unavailable
Future Publication - Check Back Later

Description


A headstrong heiress and an arrogant barrister debate the laws of love and reputation – in and out of the courtroom – in this historically rich, endearingly witty, and captivatingly sexy enemies-to-lovers tale from New York Times bestselling Madeline Hunter. The first in a new trilogy perfect for fans of Sarah MacLean, Eloisa James, Mary Balogh and Julia Quinn!

A crack shot and an accomplished rider, Caroline Montgomery, sister to the Earl of Larchmont, might have joined the fighting abroad herself if it had been allowed. Instead, she has waited for the news that her adored younger brother is coming home. But when he does, he is moody and distant, and served almost immediately with a dreadful lawsuit for defamation of character. Caroline is shocked, but determined to clear his name with the best resources possible. Unfortunately the perfect barrister is a man Caroline cannot endure . . . even if he is brilliant and has more than his fair share of good looks.

An MP as well as a barrister, Clayton Merritt is familiar with difficult causes and willing to take on the case, but he wishes that the fiery Caroline would sit back and let him handle it. As if he needs advice from a woman! But he soon learns that Caroline is far savvier than he expected. As the two of them work together to restore her brother’s reputation, Caroline finds herself tempted by the undeniable chemistry between them, and Clayton wonders if there is a very different verdict he would like to win . . .

About the Author


Madeline Hunter is a New York Times bestselling author with more than six million copies of her books in print. A member of RWA’s Honor Roll, she has won the RITA Award twice and been a finalist seven times. Her books have been translated into 13 languages and appeared on the New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestseller lists. She has a PhD in art history, which she has taught at the university level.  Madeline can be found online at MadelineHunter.com, on Facebook.com /MadelineHunter, and on Twitter @MadelineHunter.

Praise For…


Praise for Madeline Hunter:
 
“A marvelously resourceful heroine, inventive storytelling that refreshingly explores an unusual aspect of the Regency world, vibrant and witty writing, and some potently sensual love scenes.” —Booklist on Heiress in Red Silk
 
“[A] smart, satisfying Regency romance…Hunter gives the well-matched pair plenty of ground to cover with a wide cast of memorable suspects, and their clever detective work is a consistent pleasure. The plot moves apace, but Chase and Minerva’s relationship is treated patiently, with their attraction simmering alongside mutual respect, and their eventual love scenes are sensitively rendered. Romance readers craving substantive mystery and intelligent leads will savor this pitch-perfect love story.” Publishers Weekly, STARRED REVIEW for Heiress for Hire
 
Heiress in Red Silk is a book that hooked right into my emotions and gave me what I wanted and needed from a story right now…My heart is all a-squee from the magnificently pragmatic heroine.” —Smart Bitches, Trashy Books on Heiress in Red Silk
 
“What an absolutely thrilling series…I absolutely loved this intricate plot and couldn’t stop reading until I got to the end.” —The Good, The Bad, and the Unread, Grade A for Heiress in Red Silk

“An unexpected heiress finds love with the nephew of her benefactor as they both investigate the death that brought them together… Their banter is sharp and exciting.” Kirkus Reviews on Heiress for Hire

“It’s no mystery why RITA Award–winning Hunter (Never Deny a Duke, 2019) continues to be a favorite of discerning historical-romance readers. And the literary proof in the pudding is this launch of her new Duke’s Heiress series, which delivers a superbly sexy love story deftly dovetailed with a well-crafted, mystery-spiked plot, and graced with a cast of endlessly amusing characters.” Booklist on Heiress for Hire

“Readers who enjoy strong elements of crime solving in their romances will love Minerva and Chase’s sleuthing, but be prepared to collect the entire series for closure on the mystery.” Library Journal on Heiress for Hire


Product Details
ISBN: 9781420156591
ISBN-10: 1420156594
Publisher: Zebra
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2079
Pages: 320
Language: English