Miracle Creek (Large Print / Library Binding)

Staff Pick Badge
Miracle Creek Cover Image
$36.57
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


Miracle Creek is a courtroom drama with impeccable pacing, an original plot, and stellar writing. It’s also a remarkably empathetic book, exploring the ripple effects of causality, and the urgent need to do right by each other, in big and small ways, recognizing that even the best of us will always fail, even unknowingly, once in a while. Still, it is a lovely reminder that even when doing the right thing feels like swimming upstream, we never know what harm may be prevented, what good might come, from our actions. It’s a great read that deserves broad success. -Sara, Atlanta

 
 
 
 

More of Sara's Reviews:

When Montezuma Met Cortés cover image
The Largesse of the Sea Maiden cover image
Walking the Americas cover image

Description


A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families--and our deepest secrets

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn't even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine--a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic "dives" with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night--trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges--as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

Angie Kim's Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author's own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life "submarine" patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.

About the Author


Angie Kim moved as a preteen from Seoul, South Korea, to the suburbs of Baltimore. She attended Stanford University and Harvard Law School, where she was an editor of the Harvard Law Review, then practiced as a trial lawyer at Williams & Connolly. Her stories have won the Glamour Essay Contest and the Wabash Prize in Fiction, and appeared in numerous publications including The New York Times, Salon, Slate, The Southern Review, Sycamore Review, The Asian American Literary Review, and PANK. Kim lives in northern Virginia with her husband and three sons.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781432867034
ISBN-10: 1432867032
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: August 28th, 2019
Language: English