Murder Cuts the Mustard (A Beryl and Edwina Mystery #3) (Hardcover)

Murder Cuts the Mustard (A Beryl and Edwina Mystery #3) Cover Image
$26.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the A Beryl and Edwina Mystery series.

Description


In the lean years following World War I, brash American adventuress Beryl Helliwell and prim and proper Brit Edwina Davenport form a private inquiry agency to make ends meet, hoping that crime does indeed pay . . .
 
The latest occurrence to disturb the peace in the quaint English village of Walmsley Parva hits rather too close to home—in fact, the prime suspect has taken up residence in Edwina's potting shed. Her elderly gardener Simpkins has been secretly sleeping there after a row with his disreputable brother-in-law and housemate, Hector Lomax.
 
When Hector is found murdered in the local churchyard, Constable Gibbs comes looking for Simpkins, who was last seen arguing with his kin in the pub the night before. Based on the sad state of her garden, Edwina has grave doubts that the shiftless Simpkins could muster the effort to murder anyone. The two sleuths throw themselves into weeding out suspects and rooting out the real killer.
 
But this is no garden variety murder. The discovery of a valuable ring, a surprise connection to Colonel Kimberly's Condiment Company, and a second homicide all force Beryl and Edwina to play catch-up as they relish the chance to contain the culprit . . .

About the Author


Jessica Ellicott is the author of Murder in an English Village and Murder Flies the Coop in the Beryl & Edwina Mystery series. She loves fountain pens, Mini Coopers, and throwing parties. She lives in northern New England where she obsessively knits wool socks and enthusiastically speaks Portuguese with a shocking disregard for the rules of grammar.

Praise For…


Praise for MURDER FLIES THE COOP
 
“Captivating . . . Ellicott smoothly injects such serious issues as the impact of WWI on its survivors and the restrictions of the English class system into a light whodunit.”
Publishers Weekly
 
Praise for MURDER IN AN ENGLISH VILLAGE
 
“Ellicott’s debut delivers the traditional trappings of the cozy mystery.”
Kirkus Reviews
 
“Well-drawn women of a certain age, plot twists, and details of wartime and postwar Britain distinguish this historical cozy, which will appeal to fans of Frances Brody's Kate Shackleton and Kerry Greenwood's Phryne Fisher.”
Booklist
 
“With its strong sense of place and time in post-World War I England, this will be welcomed by fans of Frances Brody's Kate Shackelton mysteries.”
Library Journal, starred review
 
“A spectacular series launch.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review


Product Details
ISBN: 9781496710543
ISBN-10: 1496710541
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: October 29th, 2019
Pages: 304
Series: A Beryl and Edwina Mystery