Twitter Logo
Instagram Logo
LinkedIn Logo

What Harms You (A Locard Institute Thriller #2) (Hardcover)

What Harms You (A Locard Institute Thriller #2) By Lisa Black Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Locard Institute Thriller series.


Description


For fans of Patricia Cornwell, Jefferson Bass, and Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author Lisa Black draws from her real-life scientific expertise as a crime scene analyst and her skill in crafting complex and dynamic female characters, as Washington DC forensic scientists Dr. Ellie Carr and Dr. Rachael Davies team up to solve the deadliest and most devious crimes.

This suspense-driven installment in the Locard Institute Thriller series poses a chilling question: What happens when a serial killer goes to CSI school?


The Locard Institute is a state-of-the-art forensic research center where experts from around the world come together to confront and solve the world’s most challenging and perplexing crimes. When Dr. Ellie Carr arrives for her first day as an instructor at the prestigious facility, the buildings glimmer amid the brilliant fall foliage on the shores of the Chesapeake Bay. But within hours a colleague, Dr. Barbara Wright, is found dead on the floor of a supply closet. Her death appears to be an accident—but Ellie and her new supervisor, Dr. Rachael Davies, suspect a more sinister explanation.

A young woman attending a professional training program then disappears, only to be found in a gruesome tableau. Other than their link to the Institute, there seems to be no connection between the student and Dr. Wright. Although forensic traces are elusive, Ellie and Rachael are determined to find the bizarre link between the violent and diverse deaths. 

As reporters shatter the privacy of Ellie’s new workplace, she searches old files and finds evidence of a crime that feels much too personal. But who, among those dedicated to justice, could be the threat? No matter how skilled she and Rachael may be in uncovering the truth, they may not be able to prevent a well-schooled killer from striking again.

“Black, who writes elegantly from personal experience as a criminologist herself, has fashioned a wondrously structured tale with the pace and energy of a great crime film.” —BookTrib on Red Flags

About the Author


Lisa Black is the New York Times bestselling author of the Gardiner and Renner Novels and the Locard Institute Thrillers featuring Dr. Ellie Carr and Dr. Rachael Davies. As a forensic scientist at the Cuyahoga County Coroner's Office, she analyzed gunshot residue on hands and clothing, hairs, fibers, paint, glass, DNA, blood and many other forms of trace evidence, as well as crime scenes. Now she is a latent print examiner and certified crime analyst for the Cape Coral Police Department in Florida, working mostly with fingerprints and crime scenes. She is a member of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences, the International Association for Identification, and the International Association of Bloodstain Pattern Analysts, and has testified in court as an expert witness over 65 times. Her books have been translated into six languages and she was named finalist for the prestigious Sue Grafton Memorial Award for Perish. She lives near Fort Myers, Florida. Visit Lisa Black online at Lisa-Black.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Lisa Black and the Locard Institute Thrillers:

"With her first-hand knowledge of forensics added to her skill as a writer, Lisa Black doesn’t miss. Red Flags is a real nail-biter, a can’t-miss thrill ride from start to finish." Jeff Lindsay, creator of Dexter

“A brilliant idea and the ultimate locked-mansion mystery – a serial killer possibly on the loose at an elite CSI school – fully realized into a cinematic and riveting page-turner. The oh-so-knowledgeable Lisa Black immerses us in the fascinating science, the deadly secrets, the authentic details, and the personal danger. Fans of Tess Gerritsen and Kathy Reichs will especially be drawn to this compelling and fast-paced novel.” —Hank Phillippi Ryan, USA Today bestselling author on What Harms You

“While Red Flags is a forensic thriller, it’s also a very clever fair-play mystery with a deeply satisfying ending. Black layers interconnecting mysteries, even as she sensitively explores Ellie and Rachael’s complicated family lives. Ellie and Rachael’s friendship develops from a realistic and understandable professional standoffishness to warmth as they learn not only to work together but to rely on one another. This series debut balances their personal stories perfectly with the suspenseful action.” Criminal Element on Red Flags

"She is, quite simply, one of the best storytellers around." —Tess Gerritsen

“Lisa Black’s return to the Locard Institute in What Harms You is a bona fide page-turner that kept me on the edge of my seat. What a great team Dr. Ellie Carr and Dr. Rachel Davies make. Black knocked it out of the park. The Locard’s in good hands, and so are we.” —Tracy Clark, author of the Cass Raines and Det. Harriet Foster series, and winner of the Sue Grafton Memorial Award and the Sara Paretsky Award on What Harms You

"Lisa Black's second Locard Institute novel is clever, chilling, and enormously gripping right up until the very last page. Black combines spot-on forensic detail with empathetic characters I can't wait to see more of--this series tops my list of new favorites." —Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author Duncan Kincaid/Gemma James Novels on What Harms You

“Black, who writes elegantly from personal experience as a criminologist herself, has fashioned a wondrously structured tale with the pace and energy of a great crime film.” —BookTrib on Red Flags

“This solid series launch from bestseller Black introduces forensics experts Ellie Carr and Rachael Davies…Black packs the novel with fascinating details for crime scene buffs, who will eagerly await the next case for the intrepid CSIs.” —Publishers Weekly on Red Flags

“A diabolical plot, the kidnapping of kids, and a zealous lobbying group all play roles in Black's twist-filled narrative. There is more than enough suspense to keep readers fully engaged until the shocking ending.” —Booklist on Red Flags

“As the pages are turned the tension rises. The investigation is interesting and the detail about forensics is a bonus. The twists offer different red herrings to keep readers guessing.” —Crimespree Magazine on Red Flags


Product Details
ISBN: 9781496736918
ISBN-10: 1496736915
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: July 25th, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: A Locard Institute Thriller