The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle Cover Image
$15.95
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


In a humorous, charmingly wise #OwnVoices novel perfect for fans of Fredrik Backman, the forced retirement of a shy, closeted postman creates the opportunity for him to track down his lost love, embrace his true self, connect with his community, and finally experience his life’s great adventure…

Albert Entwistle is a private man with a quiet, simple life. He lives alone with his cat Gracie. And he’s a postman. At least he was a postman until, three months before his sixty-fifth birthday, he receives a letter from the Royal Mail thanking him for decades of service and stating he is being forced into retirement.
 
At once, Albert’s sole connection with his world unravels. Every day as a mail carrier, he would make his way through the streets of his small English town, delivering letters and parcels and returning greetings with a quick wave and a “how do?”  Without the work that fills his days, what will be the point? He has no friends, family, or hobbies—just a past he never speaks of, and a lost love that fills him with regret.
 
And so, rather than continue his lonely existence, Albert forms a brave plan to start truly living. It’s finally time to be honest about who he is. To seek the happiness he’s always denied himself. And to find the courage to look for George, the man that, many years ago, he loved and lost—but has never forgotten. As he does, something extraordinary happens. Albert finds unlikely allies, new friends, and proves it’s never too late to live, to hope, and to love.
 
A Note from Matt Cain, the author of The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle:
“One of the things that inspired me to write this novel was all the joy I felt at seeing gay men like myself being embraced by British society. I think you'd be hard-pushed to find any other minority community in the UK that was as hated, feared and vilified as gay men were fifty years ago and is now as widely celebrated and loved. Acceptance of gay men has become a touchstone of British values within less than a decade, something that even the most optimistic commentators couldn’t have predicted. I wanted to write a book that would celebrate this. And I sincerely hope The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle makes its readers feel good about themselves and the part they’ve played in bringing about this extraordinary social shift.”
—Matt Cain
 

About the Author


Matt Cain is an author, a leading commentator on LGBT+ issues, and a former journalist. He was Channel 4's first Culture Editor, Editor-In-Chief of Attitude magazine, and has judged the Costa Prize, the Polari Prize and the South Bank Sky Arts Awards. He won Diversity in Media's Journalist Of the Year award in 2017 and is an ambassador for Manchester Pride and the Albert Kennedy Trust, plus a patron of LGBT+ History Month. Born in Bury and brought up in Bolton, he now lives in London and can be found online at MattCainWriter.com.
 

Praise For…


Outstanding praise for Matt Cain and The Secret Life of Albert Entwistle

“This rollicking romance entrapped me! True in its detail and its scope, it is amusing yet heart-breaking.”
—Sir Ian McKellen
 
“A charming adventure with love at its heart.” 
—My Weekly
 
“A heart-warming, joyous love story—original, hopeful and totally charming.”  
—Adele Parks, author of Both of You
 
“Albert is the most delicious character and you'll be with him every step of the way.”' 
—The Sun

“Wonderful. Written with such a good heart, filled with joy and strength and optimism . . . inventive and fun but most importantly, true.” 
—Russell T. Davies, creator of It’s a Sin
 
“A life affirming story of lost love.”
—That’s Life


Product Details
ISBN: 9781496737755
ISBN-10: 149673775X
Publisher: A John Scognamiglio Book
Publication Date: May 31st, 2022
Pages: 384
Language: English