Twitter Logo
Instagram Logo
LinkedIn Logo

Intermission (Paperback)

Intermission By Phyllis R. Dixon Cover Image
$16.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Dreamgirls meets Waiting to Exhale by way of Destiny’s Child with a nostalgic 90s twist!

As glittering as their name, The Diamonds were on the brink of 1990s pop music stardom—until betrayal tore them apart. Now these four very different women are getting a second shot at success. But will reuniting mend their rift—or will lasting secrets, unspoken betrayals, new temptations, and the hard-knocks of today’s music industry destroy them, and their dreams, for good?


Angel. Carmen. Doreen. Jade. Talented Memphis girls who had a brush with pop music fame—guided by Carmen's warm-hearted mother. But when she was elbowed out for a bigger manager, Carmen walked too. The bitter breakup shattered the Diamonds' never-easy “sisterhood” —and cost them the big-time.

Now a reunion offers a fresh start, just as mid-life struggles are pushing all four to the brink.

Angel hopes to reignite her failing solo career, but her insatiable ego keeps getting in the way. . . . Carmen was the group's peacemaker, but with her son in serious trouble, she’s run out of patience. . . . Doreen longs to recapture the highs of performing, minus the drug haze—even as it risks her life as a pastor’s wife. . . . And Jade, always the wallflower, is determined to get recognized this time around.

As the women contend with the new and overwhelming demands of celebrity, they find that the old traps have stayed the same. Can they ever reach true sisterhood—and help each other become the sparkling gems they were meant to be?

About the Author


Phyllis R. Dixon is the acclaimed author of Intermission, Forty Acres, and Down Home Blues, which was shortlisted for the Lariat Adult Fiction Reading List by the Texas Library Association. She also is a contributor to the New Tri-State Defender book review column and to Chicken Soup for the African American Woman’s Soul. A graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, she is a former independent bookstore owner, previously worked for the U.S. Treasury Department, and currently serves on several nonprofit boards. She currently lives in Memphis, Tennessee, and can be found online at PhyllisRDixon.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Phyllis R. Dixon:

“A fun, sexy read.” – Ebony on Intermission

“Dixon gives her characters distinctive voices, exploring their inner lives and motivations, and her conversational style gives readers a front-row seat to the Diamonds’ sparkling reunion. Fans of Kimberla Lawson Roby and ReShonda Tate Billingsley will be enthralled.” – Booklist on Intermission

"A glamorous, fun, 90s nostalgia story." - Woman's World on Intermission

“There's a whole lotta of shakin' going on in this book! Ms. Dixon produced a rich drama with all the ingredients to hold our attention.” —Dwight Fryer Author and NAACP Image Award Nominee on Down Home Blues

“A riveting Southern family drama. Down Home Blues delves into many serious issues that affect our families and our community.” —Evelyn Palfrey, Essence Magazine bestselling author on Down Home Blues

Down Home Blues does a fantastic job of exploring how individuals and families interrelate and how their choices influence wider events in the greater world, making it a recommendation for novel readers who want their action driven by strong characters and their views of life's winding directions tempered by a better understanding of psychological motivation.” —Midwest Book Review on Down Home Blues
 
“Educational, thought provoking and captivating. Forty Acres will inspire you.” —RAWSISTAZ Reviews on Forty Acres


Product Details
ISBN: 9781496743114
ISBN-10: 1496743113
Publisher: Dafina
Publication Date: July 25th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English