Twitter Logo
Instagram Logo
LinkedIn Logo

A Deadly Walk in Devon (A Walk Through England Mystery #1) (Hardcover)

A Deadly Walk in Devon (A Walk Through England Mystery #1) By Nicholas George Cover Image
$27.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For fans of M.C. Beaton, Martha Grimes, and Alexander McCall Smith, the first in a charming new mystery series set in the English countryside, as a retired San Diego police detective embarks upon group walking tours in England’s most scenic counties…

After a long career as a detective in San Diego, Rick “Chase” Chasen has traded in his badge for a change of scenery in the coastal comforts of Devon, England, until a local murder takes him on a deadly detour . . . 

Still grieving the death of his long-time partner, Chase reunites with his dear friend and fellow Anglophile Billie Mondreau for a seacoast holiday of historic sightseeing. Assigned a pair of guides from the tour company Wanderers, Chase and Billie join seven other like-minded Americans looking forward to an English getaway. All except for Ronald Gretz. The wealthy entrepreneur behind the international Golden Sunset nursing home chain doesn’t like anything about walking, touring, or England. Coarse and opinionated, Gretz’s complaints get on the nerves of his fellow Wanderers—and his long-suffering trophy wife.

But Gretz’s gripes are tied to his own nerves being frayed. He has been receiving threatening texts and emails signed “An Avenger.” Convinced someone means him harm, Gretz asks Chase to watch his back. Soon, Gretz falls afoul of several “accidents,” leading to more friction with the other walkers. Until one final “accident” results in Gretz dead at the bottom of a cliff.

Chase, whose investigative instincts remain sharp, knows Gretz’s death was no accident. While helping the police investigate, he discovers that members of the tour group not only disliked the victim but had legitimate motives for wanting him dead. Now, he just has to uncover who among them is willing to kill . . .

About the Author


Nicholas George worked as a newspaper reporter before embarking on an extensive career in public relations and communication management. His love of long-distance walking in the U.S. and England prompted him to create his Walk Through England series of mystery novels, set on group walks in the English countryside. Nick co-wrote the feature film “Perfect Match,” prominently featured at the Chicago and Montreal film festivals. He lives in Pasadena, California, with his husband Bert.

Praise For…


Praise for Nicholas George and A Deadly Walk in Devon

“Debut author George relates how Chase uncovers potential motives of other members of the walking group; in the process, Chase becomes a target for the murderer. George, whose own love of long-distance walking inspired the book, offers a satisfying mystery with a well-drawn interesting protagonist.” The Washington Post
 
“This appealing, first-in-a-series debut is a variation on the closed-house mystery, with distinct character personalities hiding deep enmities.” Booklist
 
“George’s series debut is crisply written, laying a solid groundwork for further whodunits featuring an unconventional pair of sleuths in Chase and Billie." Kirkus Reviews
 
“A fresh concept for a new series that offers readers the chance to see the English countryside. Those who enjoy Steve Burrows’s birding mysteries may want to try this nature-heavy cozy.” Library Journal
 
“If you've ever considered going on a walking tour in the English countryside, think again! Avoid jet lag and join the intriguing group of trekkers in Nicholas George's A Deadly Walk in Devon and wander along a trail full of treacherous twists and turns to the absolutely gobsmacking reveal at the end of the path. Great fun!” —Leslie Meier, author of Patchwork Quilt Murder
 
“You’ll want to walk just about anywhere with retired police detective Rick “Chase” Chasen, a modern day Hercule Poirot.” —Lee Hollis, author of Poppy Harmon and the Shooting Star

“Take A Deadly Walk in Devon with Nicholas George in this suspenseful ‘quozy’ mystery, where every step uncovers a new secret in the picturesque English countryside. Full of colorful characters and plenty of plot twists, readers are led on a page-turning journey beneath the rolling hills and crashing waves . . . to the point of no return.” —Frank Anthony Polito, author of Haunted to Death

“Nicolas George delivers a cozy mystery that is reminiscent of the game Clue set in the English countryside. Great characters and a surprise ending. The perfect book to snuggle into.” —Mary Kate Mason, Bank Square Books (Mystic, CT)


Product Details
ISBN: 9781496745262
ISBN-10: 1496745264
Publisher: Kensington Cozies
Publication Date: March 26th, 2024
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: A Walk Through England Mystery