A Lady for a Duke (Paperback)

A Lady for a Duke Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Lisa Kleypas!
When Viola Carroll was presumed dead at Waterloo she took the opportunity to live, at last, as herself. But freedom does not come without a price, and Viola paid for hers with the loss of her wealth, her title, and her closest companion, Justin de Vere, the Duke of Gracewood.

Only when their families reconnect, years after the war, does Viola learn how deep that loss truly was. Shattered without her, Gracewood has retreated so far into grief that Viola barely recognises her old friend in the lonely, brooding man he has become.

As Viola strives to bring Gracewood back to himself, fresh desires give new names to old feelings. Feelings that would have been impossible once and may be impossible still, but which Viola cannot deny. Even if they cost her everything, all over again.

About the Author


Alexis Hall lives in a crumbling gothic manor that he inherited in mysterious circumstances. He is a genial host provided you swear that you will under no circumstances venture into the west wing.

Praise For…


"The period banter is unparalleled as Hall pulls his characters out of the drawing room and into far closer quarters. He explores difficult subjects with a sharpness matched only by the tenderness underpinning the relationship between Viola and Gracewood. Fans of Lisa Kleypas and anyone looking for romance centering trans characters owe it to themselves to check this out."—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“[Alexis Hall] has hit it out of the park with this emotionally resonant, character-driven Regency romance.”
 —BookPage, Starred Review

"Hall is a consistently beautiful writer, but this story, the first in a new series, may be his best yet.”
 —Kirkus, Starred Review

"[Hall] crafts some of the most sparkling prose in contemporary romance. . . . we give this fully baked concept our highest compliments."—Entertainment Weekly on Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake

"Hall does it again with this scrumptious, quietly subversive rom-com again . . . Hilarious, heartwarming, and grounded, Rosaline's story proves that happy endings look different from person to person."—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review, on Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake

"Hall seamlessly combines humor, romance, and drama to create a story that is intimately believable and at once cozy and sexy. . . . The book combines sweet escapism and poignant cultural touchstones with well-crafted characters and hilariously familiar settings. Hall does it again with this culturally relevant, wonderfully escapist foray into the baking world. This is a must-buy for any library."—Library Journal, Starred Review, on Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake

"Simply the best writer I've come across in years."—Laura Kinsale, New York Times bestselling author of Flowers from the Storm


Product Details
ISBN: 9781538753750
ISBN-10: 1538753758
Publisher: Forever
Publication Date: May 24th, 2022
Pages: 480
Language: English