X Marks the Spot! (Math Matters) (Paperback)

X Marks the Spot! (Math Matters) By Lucille Recht Penner, Jerry Smath (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Lucille Recht Penner, Jerry Smath (Illustrator)
$6.71
Not Available

Description


Discover Math Matters! With over 15 million books sold worldwide, this award-winning series of easy-to-read books will help young readers ages 5–8 approach math with enthusiasm. Great for fans of MathStart or Step into Reading Math.

After Jake and Leo reluctantly move into their grandfather's old house, they receive a mysterious postcard about treasure maps in the attic. Following the clues on the maps, Jake and Leo discover their new neighborhood and find that the real treasure is right in their own backyard!

With engaging stories that connect math to kids’ everyday lives, each book in the Teachers’ Choice Award–winning Math Matters series focuses on a single concept and reinforces math vocabulary and skills. Bonus activities in the back of each book feature math and reading comprehension questions, and even more free activities online add to the fun! (Math topic: Coordinate Graphing)

About the Author


Lucille Recht Penner was born in New York City and is an alumna of Barnard College. She has written 35 books for children on subjects ranging from dinosaurs to Native American food. Many of her books have been book club selections and two were Boston Globe Honor Books. Mrs. Penner lives in Tucson, Arizona and Portland, Oregon. Jerry Smath illustrated his first children’s book in 1954 and hasn’t stopped. He has illustrated over 100 books for other authors, and has written and illustrated 30 of his own titles. Two of those, But No Elephants and The Housekeeper’s Dog (Parents Press), were Children’s Choice Award winners. Jerry and his wife live in Croton-on-Hudson, New York, with a dog named Molly.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781575651118
ISBN-10: 1575651114
Publisher: Kane Press
Publication Date: January 1st, 2002
Pages: 32
Language: English
Series: Math Matters