I Can Take it from Here: A Memoir of Trauma, Prison, and Self-Empowerment (Eyewitness Memoirs) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
I Can Take it from Here: A Memoir of Trauma, Prison, and Self-Empowerment (Eyewitness Memoirs) Cover Image
$17.95
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


An emotional, page-turning account of unhealed trauma and personal transformation that will break your heart and change your mind, in the tradition of Somebody's Daughter, A Piece of Cake, and Jesmyn Ward's Men We Reaped

Riveting, honest, and raw, I Can Take It From Here recounts Lisa Forbes's harrowing journey into darkness — including a fourteen-year-long stint in a maximum-security prison — and her fierce resolve to understand the effects of the trauma she endured, to take personal responsibility for her actions, and to ensure that her history does not dictate her destiny.

The youngest of six children, Lisa grew up in a Chicago housing project where she endured sexual, religious, and emotional abuse as a little girl. A voracious reader, she graduated high school at 15 and went to work as a secretary in a downtown insurance office, became pregnant at 16 and, at 19, unexpectedly and uncharacteristically committed a violent act, stabbing and killing the father of her daughter.

Providing powerful insights into what we as a society need to learn and confront in the ongoing epidemic of mass re-incarceration, Lisa is a stunning example of an individual who through determination, knowledge, and hard work has been able to reclaim her own life.

The book ends with Lisa's rousing call to action to support the people—as well as the shorthanded employers—who need the help, and need each other, more than ever.

About the Author


Lisa Forbes grew up poor on the South Side of Chicago. An ex-con in her thirties, she started her own company, Lisa Forbes Inc., to help restored citizens cope with post-prison life. Based in Denver, she has spoken widely and conducted many workshops. Previously the state communications director for the League of Women Voters of Colorado, Forbes now edits her local county League’s monthly newsletter, The Voter. Additionally, Forbes is a Colorado co-coordinator of Better Angels, a national citizens’ movement to bring liberals and conservatives together at the grassroots level.

Praise For…


"An inspiringly courageous memoir."
-- Kirkus Reviews

"Forbes' clear, honest, and inspiring memoir proves she is a champion for herself and the struggle against mass incarceration and recidivism."
--Booklist

"An inspirational memoir that moves from childhood trauma to incarceration to eventual reintegration into society, I Can Take It from Here is compelling as it argues that trauma resolution for individuals is critical to criminal justice reform."
-- Foreword Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9781586423049
ISBN-10: 1586423045
Publisher: Truth to Power
Publication Date: June 7th, 2022
Pages: 256
Language: English
Series: Eyewitness Memoirs