Invisible Boy: A Memoir of Self-Discovery (Eyewitness Memoirs) (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Invisible Boy: A Memoir of Self-Discovery (Eyewitness Memoirs) Cover Image
$18.95
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


An unforgettable coming-of-age memoir about a Black boy adopted into a white, Christian fundamentalist family
 
Perfect for fans of Educated, Punch Me Up to the Gods, and Surviving the White Gaze


A powerful, experiential journey from white cult to Black consciousness: Harrison Mooney’s riveting story of self-discovery lifts the curtain on the trauma of transracial adoption and the internalized antiblackness at the heart of the white evangelical Christian movement.
 
Inspired by Ralph Ellison’s Invisible Man the same way Ta-Nehisi Coates’s Between the World and Me was inspired by James Baldwin, Harrison Mooney’s debut memoir will captivate readers with his powerful gift for storytelling, his keen eye for insight and observation, and his wry sense of humor.
 
As an adopted and homeschooled Black boy with ADHD at white fundamentalist Christian churches and tent revivals, Mooney was raised amid a swirl of conflicting and confusing messages and beliefs. Within that radical and racist right-wing bubble along the U.S. border in Canada's Bible Belt, Harrison was desperate to belong and to be "visible" to those around him.
 
But before ultimately finding his own path, Harrison must first come to understand that the forces at work in his life were not supernatural, but the same trauma and systemic violence that has terrorized Black families for generations. Reconnecting with his birth mother--and understanding her journey--leads Harrison to a new connection with himself: the eyes looking down were my true mother’s eyes, and the face was my true mother’s face, and for the first time in my life, I saw that I was beautiful.

About the Author


Harrison Mooney is an award-winning writer and journalist from Vancouver. Prior to penning his debut memoir, Harrison worked for The Vancouver Sun for nearly a decade as a reporter, editor and columnist. His writing has also appeared in the National Post, Yahoo, The Guardian, and Macleans. He lives in East Vancouver with his family.
 

 


Product Details
ISBN: 9781586423469
ISBN-10: 1586423460
Publisher: Truth to Power
Publication Date: September 20th, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: Eyewitness Memoirs