Comfort (Bakers Mountain Stories #2) (Paperback)

Comfort (Bakers Mountain Stories #2) Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Bakers Mountain Stories series.


In the wake of World War II, Ann Fay Honeycut grapples with her father’s trauma and the physical and emotional effects of polio—finding healing in the unlikeliest of places
Now that Daddy has returned from fighting Hitler and Ann Fay is home from the polio hospital, life should get back to normal. But Ann Fay discovers she no longer fits easily into old friendships and Daddy has been traumatized by the war. Her family and social life are both falling apart. Ever responsible, she tries to fix things until she finally admits that she herself needs fixing.
She travels to the Georgia Warm Springs Foundation, founded by Franklin D. Roosevelt, where she finds comfort, healing, and even a little romance. Although this invigorating experience does not solve all her problems, it does give Ann Fay a new view of herself.
In this Parents’ Choice Awards Recommended Book, sequel to Blue, Ann Fay makes new friends, reevaluates old relationships, and discovers her unique place in the community.

About the Author

Joyce Moyer Hostetter received a BA degree in early childhood education at Lenoir-Rhyne College in Hickory, North Carolina. Since then, she has continued her studies in special education at the University of North Carolina, Charlotte, and in art at James Madison University in Harrisonburg, Virginia. She lives near Hickory, North Carolina.

Praise For…

"Contains vivid descriptions of postwar rural America, polio treatment, small-town life, the ravages of war and the importance of family." —Kirkus Reviews

"The best part of Comfort is Hostetter's loving depiction of life in the rural South in the 1940s." —Booklist

"Exceptional historical fiction." —School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9781590788950
ISBN-10: 1590788958
Publisher: Calkins Creek
Publication Date: October 3rd, 2011
Pages: 312
Language: English
Series: Bakers Mountain Stories