Horrorstor: A Novel (Paperback)

Horrorstor: A Novel Cover Image
$14.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Praise for the author: “National treasure Grady Hendrix follows his classic account of a haunted IKEA-like furniture showroom, Horrorstör (2014), with a nostalgia-soaked ghost story, My Best Friend’s Exorcism.”—The Wall Street Journal

A traditional haunted house story in a thoroughly contemporary setting, Horrorstör comes packaged in the form of a glossy mail order catalog, complete with product illustrations, a home delivery order form, and a map of Orsk’s labyrinthine showroom. It’s “a treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.”—Kirkus Reviews

Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring bookshelves, shattered Glans water goblets, and smashed Liripip wardrobes. Sales are down, security cameras reveal nothing, and store managers are panicking.
 
To unravel the mystery, three employees volunteer to work a nine-hour dusk-till-dawn shift. In the dead of the night, they’ll patrol the empty showroom floor, investigate strange sights and sounds, and encounter horrors that defy the imagination.

About the Author


Grady Hendrix is a novelist and screenwriter based in New York City. His novels include Horrorstör, named one of the best books of 2014 by National Public Radio, and My Best Friend’s Exorcism, for which the Wall Street Journal dubbed him “a national treasure.” The Bram Stoker Award-winning Paperbacks from Hell, his survey of outrageous horror novels of the 1970s and 80s, was called “pure, demented delight” by the New York Times Book Review. He’s contributed to PlayboyThe Village Voice, and Variety.

Praise For…


Horrorstör delivers a crisp terror-tale...[and] Hendrix strikes a nice balance between comedy and horror.”—Washington Post

“Disarming”—Wall Street Journal

“Wildly fun and outrageously inventive”—Shelf Awareness for Readers, starred review

“Hendrix conjures up some wonderfully gruesome imagery”—Nerdist
 
“A clever little horror story...the book starts as a Palahniuk-tinged satire about the things we own...turning the psychological manipulations and scripted experiences that are inherent to the retail experience into a sinister fight for survival. A treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.”Kirkus Reviews

“If you’ve ever been frustrated trying to put together furniture from IKEA, you’ll get a laugh out of Hendrix’s spoof mystery.”—New York Post
 
“A very clever ghost story...the story is entertaining and the book itself is laid out like an Orsk catalog”—Booklist

“A fun horror novel...Enjoyable...There is a fair amount of workplace humor, but the book...will deliver enough scares for horror fans as well.”—Library Journal
 
“The book’s packaging as a catalog—complete with illustrations of increasingly sinister-looking furniture with faux Scandinavian names—gives it a charmingly oddball allure.”—Publishers Weekly

“Hendrix is an engaging writer.”—Santa Fe New Mexican

With just the right amount of absurdity, this text thoughtfully critiques how workers are too often sidelined in favor of profits.”—Alliance for American Manufacturing

Praise for Paperbacks from Hell:
 
“Pure, demented delight.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Paperbacks from Hell 
is as funny as it is engaging.”—The Washington Post

“The book is a true appreciation of the genre.”—Los Angeles Times

“Just thumbing through these pages will bring back your youth— and terrify you all over again.”—Newsday

“Paperbacks from Hell is as wild as its source material.”—The A.V. Club

Praise for My Best Friend’s Exorcism:
 
“National treasure Grady Hendrix follows his classic account of a haunted IKEA-like furniture showroom, Horrorstor (2014), with a nostalgia-soaked ghost story, My Best Friend’s Exorcism.”—The Wall Street Journal

“Take The Exorcist, add some hair spray and wine coolers, and enroll it in high school in 1988 — that’ll give you My Best Friend’s Exorcism… Campy. Heartfelt. Horrifying.”—Minnesota Public Radio
 
“Clever, heartfelt, and get-under-your-skin unnerving without succumbing to any of the more predictable exorcism story tropes — things happen in this book that you will not expect. It will leave you sleepless because you won’t want to put it down, and you’ll be too scared to.”—Fangoria 

“A touching story of high school friendship and, well, demonic possession.”—Bloody Disgusting
 
“Grady Hendrix’s terrific new novel...places best friend drama front and center, and wrings honest truths from the fictional magic...Sharply written...[My Best Friend’s Exorcism] makes a convincing case for his powers as a sharp observer of human behavior, filtered through a fun genre conceit that doesn’t skimp on the spooky—or the bodily fluids.”—The A.V. Club


Product Details
ISBN: 9781594745263
ISBN-10: 1594745269
Publisher: Quirk Books
Publication Date: September 23rd, 2014
Pages: 240
Language: English