Shades of Earth (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Shades of Earth Cover Image
Check Availability Status
Hard to Find

Staff Reviews


Beth Revis had her work cut out for her when it came to making a new planet for Shades of Earth and what that planet would entail for the Godspeed Colony. Was I let down and disappointed? Not at all. Beth has written a book that has made it to my all-time favorites list.
I can't write too much about everything that happened in the book because it would give too much away. But I will write about what it brought to me.
From the very first page I was hooked. I could never make the choice that Amy and Elder made. To land the shuttle and leave the safety of Godspeed, the colony’s home? I know that in order to leave, I could never come back. I don't think I could do that. Not to myself, and not to anyone else. But they braved it, pushing the launch button, never to return. Props to them for having the "frexing chutz" to do what I wouldn't.
From the point they launched the shuttle to very end was filled with so much action and mystery. I loved it. I find it hard to nit-pick what is safe to reveal to you and what isn't. I can say that Beth is a master when it comes to pulling the wool over your eyes and making you see what she wants. I could never have guessed some of the betrayals, or the amazing heartfelt, sad moments.
Aside from all that, I always want to know, can the main characters rise to the occasion? Can they defeat the obstacles presented to them? Or do they just get lucky and stumble through the book in a daze until it's finally over? Don't despair, Amy and Elder destroyed the obstacles in their path. Elder became the leader he needed to be and Amy had a few HELL YEAH! moments. I connected with them, and had no doubt in my mind that they would be the strong character leads this book needed.
Now to the bad I guess (not really all that bad.) Some readers may have a hard time dealing with all the death in this conclusive book. There is minor gore, but honestly even the description of their deaths is minimal. Beth did the good thing and pretty much did the "less is more."
Shades of Earth, what can I say? I absolutely positively loved it. I wasn't disappointed and I'm certainly sad that it's over. I will miss Amy and Elder. — David, Boston

Description


The final book in the"New York Times" bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Gallactica and "Prometheus"
Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceship" Godspeed" behind. They're ready to start life afresh--to build a home--on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.
But this new Earth isn't the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? "Godspeed"'s former passengers aren't alone on this planet. And if they're going to stay, they'll have to fight.
Amy and Elder must race to discover who--or what--else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed--friends, family, life on Earth--will have been for nothing.
FUELED BY LIES.
RULED BY CHAOS.
ALMOST HOME.
Praise for the ACROSS THE UNIVERSE trilogy:
"Entirely original, deeply compelling, and totally unputdownable--I've found a new favorite " --Carrie Ryan, "New York Times "bestselling author of "The Forest of Hands and Teeth"
"A murder mystery, a budding romance, and a dystopian world gracefully integrated into a sci-fi novel that blows away all expectation." --Melissa Marr, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Wicked Lovely"
"A fast-paced, action-packed follow-up . . . that explores not only the nature of authority and loyalty but fear of the unknown and fulfilling one's personal destiny." --"LA Times.

About the Author


Beth Revis is the author of the "New York Times" bestselling Across the Universe series. "Shades of Earth," the third book in the trilogy, will be published in Spring 2013. Beth lives in rural North Carolina with her husband and dog, and believes space is nowhere near the final frontier.

Praise For…


PRAISE FOR SHADES OF EARTH:

"A fabulous job of integrating science fiction and YA romance."—USAToday.com

"Great science fiction...recommend[ed] for both teenagers and adults." —Wired.com

"Comes to a fittingly explosive conclusion in this satisfying series ender. . . . A propulsive storyteller with a knack for jarring surprises and raising the stakes." —Booklist

"Throughout the series, Revis has brought real and immediate emotions to sci-fi scenarios . . . and here she invests that skill in making readers feel, along with her protagonists, the awe and wonder facing humanity as the characters step out onto an alien planet for the first time."  —Horn Book Reviews

"Wraps up questions with elegant surprises and fresh moral dilemmas . . . Revis is a truly original voice." —BCCB

"Brings it home on a planet far from home." –Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR THE ACROSS THE UNIVERSE TRILOGY:

"Entirely original, deeply compelling, and totally unputdownable--I've found a new favorite!" —Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth

"A murder mystery, a budding romance, and a dystopian world gracefully integrated into a sci-fi novel that blows away all expectation." —Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Lovely

"A horrifying and deliciously claustrophobic masterpiece that's part sci-fi, part dystopian, and entirely brilliant." —Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormalcy and Supernaturally

"A fast-paced, action-packed follow-up . . . that explores not only the nature of authority and loyalty but fear of the unknown and fulfilling one's personal destiny." —LA Times



Product Details
ISBN: 9781595143990
ISBN-10: 1595143998
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: January 15th, 2013
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Across the Universe