Arthur Miller: Collected Plays Vol. 2 1964-1982 (LOA #223) (Library of America Arthur Miller Edition #2) (Hardcover)

Arthur Miller: Collected Plays Vol. 2 1964-1982 (LOA #223) (Library of America Arthur Miller Edition #2) Cover Image
Check Availability Status
Hard to Find


This second volume of Arthur Miller's collected plays opens with After the Fall (1964), his much-anticipated return to the theater after an eight-year hiatus. A tour-de-force exploration of guilt, responsibility, and history, the play opened a window on the playwright's marriage to the late Marilyn Monroe. Incident at Vichy (1964) dramatizes the round-up of Jews in Vichy France in a vivid single act. The Price (1968), a Broadway hit, follows two brothers, a successful surgeon and a struggling policeman, as they figure out how to dispose of their dead father's belongings. The Creation of the World and Other Business (1972) and Up from Paradise (1974) treat characteristically grand themes in uncharacteristically comedic and musical forms. The American Clock (1974) is a "vaudeville" about the Depression years, while The Archbishop's Ceiling (1977), set in a room in Soviet-era Prague that may or may not be bugged, is a meditation on trust and betrayal. The tele-play Playing for Time (1980) tells the story of the Women's Orchestra of Auschwitz. Here, too, are several shorter one-act plays and sketches-among them The Reason Why (1970), published for the first time-along with a selection of Miller's introductions and other writings about his plays.

LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation’s literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America’s best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.

About the Author

TONY KUSHNER, editor of The Library of America Arthur Miller Edition, is one of America's most acclaimed playwrights. He has won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama (for Angels in America, Part One), an Emmy Award, two Tony Awards, three Obie Awards, and two Drama Desk Awards.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781598531473
ISBN-10: 1598531476
Publisher: Library of America
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2012
Pages: 848
Language: English
Series: Library of America Arthur Miller Edition