Twitter Logo
Instagram Logo
LinkedIn Logo

Ashes (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Ashes By Álvaro Ortiz Cover Image
$19.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Three old friends reunite for the mother of all road trips! One of Spain’s most brilliant graphic novelists finally makes his English-language debut in this elegantly unpredictable gem.

Three old friends reunite for the mother of all road trips! One of Spain’s most brilliant graphic novelists finally makes his English-language debut in this elegantly unpredictable gem.

Polly, Moho, and Piter haven’t seen each other in years. Now they’ve piled into a car for a loooong journey to a mysterious cross marked on a map. All their old personality quirks and conflicts are resurrected with new wrinkles as this surreal reunion gets underway. Up ahead are car chases, alcohol, roadside motels, banjo-playing thugs, a ship graveyard, violence, sensual tension, and, of course, a monkey!

The captivating first graphic novel from internationally renowned cartoonist Álvaro Ortiz is an explosive mix of emotional road movie and hooligan thriller in which nothing is what it seems.
 

About the Author


Álvaro Ortiz studied graphic design at the Escuela Superior de Diseño de Aragón and illustration at the Escola Massana in Barcelona. After winning several comic competitions, including the 2003 Injuve Comic Award, he has become one of Spain’s most acclaimed cartoonists. After the youth graphic novel series Julia and the Norwegian-themed comic book Fjorden, Ortiz released his debut graphic novel for adults, Cenizas (Ashes), which was created with an Alhóndiga Bilbao grant at the Maison des Auteurs in Angoulême, France. His subsequent works include Murderabilia (2014), Rituales (2015), and Viajes (Astiberri, 2016), as well as a collaboration with the Thyssen-Bornemisza National Museum and a pair of webcomics created during the COVID-19 pandemic. Ashes is his first book in English.
 

Praise For…


“Ortiz’s classic cartoon art style lends itself well to the wacky and surprising elements of his road trip story, while the characters’ reasons for growing apart and coming back together feel true. Ortiz’s English debut will be perfect for fans of Guy Delisle’s work.” —Booklist

“The pages…set an easygoing visual rhythm appropriate to the characters’ affably rambling adventure. This laid-back, sneakily smart charmer should garner Ortiz a new audience.” —Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9781603095174
ISBN-10: 1603095179
Publisher: Top Shelf Productions
Publication Date: February 7th, 2023
Pages: 184
Language: English