Descending Stories: Showa Genroku Rakugo Shinju 10 (Paperback)

Descending Stories: Showa Genroku Rakugo Shinju 10 Cover Image
Check Availability Status
This book is on order, check back again soon

Other Books in Series

This is book number 10 in the Descending Stories series.


A multi-generational human drama set in the world of rakugo, a traditional form of Japanese comedic storytelling, Descending Stories follows an ex-convict whose life is changed by his apprenticeship to a famed storyteller, and Konatsu, who yearns to perform rakugo but cannot because women are not permitted in the craft.


After the last remaining yose in Tokyo burns down, the future of rakugo is more uncertain than ever. But even without a theater to perform in, Yotaro is still adamant on keeping rakugo alive. Meanwhile, Yakumo makes his way through the underworld, but to pass on to the peace he so desperately craves, he'll need to finally, and literally, lay his ghosts to rest.

The saga of a generation of love, art, and storytelling concludes and begins again...


Product Details
ISBN: 9781632366627
ISBN-10: 1632366622
Publisher: Kodansha Comics
Publication Date: December 31st, 2018
Pages: 176
Language: English
Series: Descending Stories