Twitter Logo
Instagram Logo
LinkedIn Logo

Star Struck (A Hollywood Mystery #2) (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Star Struck (A Hollywood Mystery #2) By Marjorie McCown Cover Image
$31.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Perfect for fans of Elle Cosimano and Kellye Garrett, in this second Hollywood mystery, film costumer Joey Jessop discovers that Hollywood buries its secrets deep when a superstar’s assistant turns up dead.

Costumer Joey Jessop is working on a movie set in 1930s Hollywood and starring two of the world’s biggest stars. The male lead is also a dedicated social activist, and the female lead, Gillian Best, is known for her lifestyle brand. After a hit-and-run near the set, Joey realizes that the car involved belongs to Gillian, and she begins to wonder if the actress has more to hide than her Botox appointments.

Her suspicions deepen when Gillian’s personal assistant, Rita, vows to get revenge for Gillian replacing her and is found dead shortly after. Gillian quickly labels Rita’s death a suicide, and the police seem to agree–but Joey isn’t so sure.

With the police standing aside, it’s up to Joey to dig up the truth—but Hollywood stars know how to keep their secrets close, and a woman like Gillian Best won’t take kindly to someone sniffing around her affairs. Joey is certain that Gillian has something to hide–and she’s determined to find out what.

About the Author


Marjorie McCown has spent her entire professional life in the story-telling business, though she started out on the visual side of the craft. She spent more than twenty-five years in Hollywood working as a key member of the costume design teams for a string of successful movies that includes Forrest Gump, Apollo 13, The Firm, A Bronx Tale, Wag the Dog, The Aviator, Hairspray, Angels and Demons, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, and X-Men: Days of Future Past. McCown has a BA in theater from the University of Virginia and an AAS in fashion design from the Fashion Institute of Technology in NYC. She is a member of Sisters in Crime and Mystery Writers of America. She lives in Southern California.

Praise For…


Praise for Star Struck:
“Sorry, Sherlock. Detective work has nothing on the perils of costume design.”
Kirkus Reviews

Star Struck is a delightful addition to McCown's Hollywood Mystery series! With her years of experience in the industry, McCown crafts a zinger of a whodunit with all the glitz and glam a reader could want, along with a twisty turny mystery that readers will devour.”
—Jenn McKinlay, New York Times bestselling author 

"Star Struck is a beguiling and enthralling look behind the Hollywood curtain through the eyes of a wonderful protagonist, costume designer Joey Jessop. This elegant mystery novel shows what it's like to make a movie through the eyes of Joey and a full cast of fascinating, and sometimes malignant, characters who drive this fascinating plot and keep us guessing until the end. Like a good film, Star Struck will draw you in and hold your attention until the closing credits, so I highly recommend you pop the popcorn and enjoy the ride."
—Mark Pryor, author of the Hugo Marston and Henri Lefort mystery novels.

“In Star Struck, McCown brings all the chaos, glamour, and high drama of a Los Angeles film set to life in thrilling detail.”
—Wendall Thomas, author of the Anthony, MacAvity, and Lefty nominated Cyd Redondo Mysteries

“I loved Star Struck all the way through to the martini shot.”  
—Robyn Walton, book reviewer, The Weekend Australian

Praise for Final Cut:

“A must-read movie mystery packed with juicy details from a Hollywood insider, Final Cut gets my nomination for best debut.”
—Ellen Byron, Agatha and Lefty Award Winner, USA Today bestselling author

“The story is a pop culture lover’s dream. I’m already lining up for the sequel.”
—Kellye Garrett, award–winning author of Like a Sister

“A sparkling debut.”
—Erica Ruth Neubauer, award-winning author of the Jane Wunderly Mystery series

“[A] compellingly-readable mystery.”
—Barbara Ross, award winning author of the Maine Clambake Mysteries

“McCown has expertly crafted a nifty intense mystery with a fascinating insider glimpse into the hectic life behind the scenes on a film set.”
—Daniel Orlandi, award-winning costume designer of The Da Vinci Code

“Engaging from the first page to last.”
—Victoria Gilbert, author of the Blue Ridge Library

“[A] unique glimpse of how blockbuster movie magic is made, combined with a timely examination of the epidemic of harassment in Hollywood, makes for a fascinating read.”
—Olivia Blacke, author of the Brooklyn Murder Mysteries

“Overflowing with authentic details, the behind-the-scenes peek at Hollywood filmmaking will captivate readers as much as the crimes.”
—Misha Popp, author of the Pies Before Guys Mystery series

“[A] keen sense of what it’s like to work on a Hollywood production.”
Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9781639106646
ISBN-10: 1639106642
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: May 7th, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: A Hollywood Mystery