Glimmer As You Can: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Glimmer As You Can: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


"A timely and beautiful story of female friendship and strength." --Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author of The Queen's Fortune

"Martin deftly and exquisitely captures this historical moment." --Jillian Cantor, USA Today bestselling author of In Another Time

In the glitz and glamor tradition of Beatriz Williams's Tiny Little Thing and Fiona Davis's The Chelsea Girls, Danielle Martin's debut is "a love letter to...women" (Greer Macallister, The Magician's Lie) that illustrates the courage of women and the strength of sisterhood.


Welcome to the Starlite. Let your true self shine.

1962. In the middle of Brooklyn Heights sits the Starlite: boutique dress shop by day, underground women's club by night. Started by the shop's proprietor after her marriage crumbled, Madeline's social club soon becomes a safe haven for women from all walks of life looking for a respite from their troubled relationships and professional frustrations. These after-hour soirées soon bring two very different women into Madeline's life--Elaine, a British ex-pat struggling to save her relationship, and Lisa, a young stewardess whose plans for the future are suddenly upended--irrevocably changing all three women's lives in ways no one could have predicted.

But when Madeline's ne'er-do-well ex-husband shows up again, the luster of Starlite quickly dampens. As the sisterhood rallies around Madeline, tension begins to eat at the club. When an unspeakable tragedy befalls their sorority, one woman must decide whether to hide the truth from the group or jeopardize her own hopes and dreams. Sure to appeal to readers of Kathleen Tessaro and Suzanne Rindell, Glimmer As You Can captures the heartbeat of an era and the ambitions of a generation of women living in a man's world--a world threatened by a wave of change.

About the Author


Danielle Martin started her professional career as an assistant with the William Morris agency before pursuing a degree in teaching. She previously worked as a special education teacher in New York, Pennsylvania, and Louisiana. Currently she works as a freelance writer near New Orleans. Born in Putnam County, NY and raised by two generations of native Brooklynites, her depictions of the boroughs of New York were informed by her childhood experiences, family accounts, and a love of city history.

Praise For…


Praise for Glimmer As You Can:
“Martin crafts a charming anthem to female solidarity.”
Booklist

“Told against the historic backdrop of a time of great social change, and with colorful language and details, this is a timely and beautiful story of female friendship and strength, of the secrets we all carry behind our smiles, and the power to be found in a sisterhood of supportive women.”
—Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author of The Queen’s Fortune

Beautifully written…Danielle Martin deftly and exquisitely captures this historical moment and the lives, hopes, and struggles of three women trapped in their circumstances…An enduring story of the power of female friendship.”
—Jillian Cantor, USA Today bestselling author of In Another Time and Half Life

“Martin's Brooklyn-set debut is a love letter to the women of the past whose struggles and successes still feel familiar today. The novel's mix of hope and fear, empowerment and disappointment, entanglement and freedom will break, then mend, your heart.”
—Greer Macallister, USA Today bestselling author of The Magician's Lie and The Arctic Fury


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643855233
ISBN-10: 1643855239
Publisher: Alcove Press
Publication Date: November 10th, 2020