Twitter Logo
Instagram Logo
LinkedIn Logo

Antonia: A Journey to a New Home (Hardcover)

Antonia: A Journey to a New Home By Dipacho Cover Image
By Dipacho
$18.99
Not Available

Description


Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen, this nearly wordless picture book tells a heartwarming and hopeful story of loss and new beginnings as a little girl and her dog, Antonia, journey with their family across a river to start a new life.

Like so many people around the world facing difficult times, the little girl and her family in this eye-catching and emotionally satisfying picture book have had to leave their home. The girl has brought along her belongings and her friendly, curious dog, Antonia. While waiting for a boat to take them across a river, she plays with other children who've also brought pets --a duck and a bird. But on the other side of the river, Antonia goes missing in the brush. The girl is distraught, until a new friend releases his own pet bird from its cage in an extraordinary gesture of solidarity and freedom. With colorful, whimsical illustrations and an uplifting message of resilience, this US debut from a talented Colombian creator will leave readers with a full heart.

About the Author


Dipacho, the psesudonym of Diego Francisco Sanchez Rodriguez, is an award-winning Colombian author, illustrator, graphic designer, and musician. His picture books have been published in Colombia and other South American countries as well as France and Italy. Antonia is his American debut.

Praise For…


A Favorite Picture Book of 2021 - Let's Talk Picture Books

“Conveys with power one child’s loss from forced migration.” - Publishers Weekly

“Can launch important conversations between adults and children about the circumstances in which a family might have to move, and the immense difficulties that can ensue." - School Library Journal

"A great book to use to start conversations around displacements around the world." - Picture Book Playdate

"This bittersweet picture book about a dog gone missing and a little girl who must continue along her way marks the U.S. debut of an award-winning Colombian author and illustrator." - New York Times


Product Details
ISBN: 9781662650451
ISBN-10: 1662650450
Publisher: minedition
Publication Date: September 14th, 2021
Pages: 40
Language: English