Twitter Logo
Instagram Logo
LinkedIn Logo

Act of War: A Thriller (The Scot Harvath Series #13) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Act of War: A Thriller (The Scot Harvath Series #13) By Brad Thor Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 13 in the The Scot Harvath Series series.

Staff Reviews

A hired Ivy League blue blood type known as an NOC, "non official cover" secret agent, is planted in China by the United States to uncover suspicious national security activity. When his peculiar death occurs The Agency calls in backup and discovers Snow Dragon, an operation in progress that brings with it darkness, cold, and death. As the Central Intelligence Agency investigates, Washington brings to light China's intention to reinvent the phrase "the inferior can defeat the superior". Knowing the U.S. is too technologically advanced, China decides to abandon the rules that make up the traditional concept of warfare. Tactics of Chemical and Biological attacks that poison food and water, along with collapsing electrical grids are discovered to be carried out and deployed by a third party of terrorists employed by China. As a preventive move by the Director of National Intelligence and the Secretary of Defense, two operations are formed, Blackbird and Gold Dust; code names given for the attempt to save America from unspeakable attacks.
Act of War by Brad Thor strikes at the heart of the reader and creates a novel of good versus evil. A merciless fictional view of terrorism groups designed for destruction, creates an empathy reminiscent of the aftermath belonging to the 9/11 attacks. These historical emotions add to the realism that the novel carries. As the main plot follows a small group into enemy territory, the subsidiary stories remain rich with subjects of organized crime and drug trafficking. Knowing the consistent danger to the heroes could turn into a POW's worst nightmare provides a pulse pounding thrill ride that has become a staple for Thor novels. Questions of International Biological, Chemical, and Nuclear attacks are answered with well-formed characterization and energized action provided by the FBI and its undercover team. Brad Thor creates another all too real action packed militarized adventure that begins on American soil and works its way through dangerous dominions such as North Korea and the likes of Al Qaeda based in Afghanistan.

— Mike, Albuquerque


The #1 New York Times and #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author Brad Thor delivers his most frightening and pulse-pounding thriller ever!

After a CIA agent mysteriously dies overseas, his top asset surfaces with a startling and terrifying claim. There’s just one problem—no one knows if she can be trusted.

But when six exchange students go missing, two airplane passengers trade places, and one political-asylum seeker is arrested, a deadly chain of events is set in motion.

With the United States facing an imminent and devastating attack, America’s new president must turn to covert counterterrorism operative Scot Harvath to help carry out two of the most dangerous operations in the country’s history.

Code-named “Gold Dust” and “Blackbird,” they are shrouded in absolute secrecy as either of them, if discovered, will constitute an act of war.

About the Author

Brad Thor is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of twenty-three thrillers, including Rising Tiger, Black Ice (Thrillerfix Best Thriller of the Year), Near Dark (one of Suspense Magazine’s Best Books of the Year), Backlash (nominated for the Barry Award for Best Thriller of the Year), Spymaster (named “one of the all-time best thriller novels” by The Washington Times), The Last Patriot (nominated Best Thriller of the Year by the International Thriller Writers association), and Blowback (called one of the “Top 100 Killer Thrillers of All Time” by NPR). Visit his website at and follow him on Facebook @BradThorOfficial, on Instagram @RealBradThor, and on Twitter @BradThor.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781982148430
ISBN-10: 1982148438
Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books
Publication Date: October 5th, 2021
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: The Scot Harvath Series