Barbarian Lord (Kobo eBook)

Barbarian Lord Cover Image
$17.99
Available Now

Description


“Smith’s debut graphic novel has guts, gore, and glory set against a harsh, Viking-influenced backdrop . . . An easy summer reading pick.”—School Library Journal

“A sword untried is a sword untested,” says one raven to another as they set out to witness the fate of the finest farm in Garmrland and its owner, Barbarian Lord. When he is cheated out of his lands and banished, Barbarian Lord begins a quest for allies and for justice, encountering monsters, ghouls, gods, and mediocre poets along the way.

Combining the rich traditions of the Vikings and Nordic lore with sword-and-sorcery—and slyly understated humor—this graphic novel introduces an original hero with classic flair, brought to life in Matt Smith’s beautifully drawn, detailed, and action-filled black-and-white illustrations.

“An accessible, memorable thrill of a graphic novel.”—Bulletin

“This plot is nothing if not action-driven, the multitudinous battle scenes and abundant swordplay (and excellent sound effects) making this an excellent choice for readers interested in Game of Thrones but who perhaps aren’t quite ready for some of its more mature subject matter.”—Kirkus Reviews

“All bend knee and hail! Barbarian Lord!”—Previews

“Interesting callbacks to Norse mythology will make this graphic novel an easy pleaser for fans of Rick Riordan’s books and K. L. Armstrong and M. A. Marr’s Blackwell Pages series.”—School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9780547859149
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: July 1st, 2014
Language: