Strange Loyalties (Kobo eBook)

Strange Loyalties Cover Image
Available Now


The third Laidlaw novel from the Father of Tartan Noir explores “the ruin of the body, the corruption of the soul and the shattering of society” (The Wall Street Journal).

Strange Loyalties begins with Jack Laidlaw’s despair and anger at his brother’s death in a banal road accident. But his nagging doubts about the dynamics of the incident lead to larger questions about the nature of pain and injustice and the greater meaning of his own life. He becomes convinced there is more to his brother’s death. His investigations will lead to a confrontation with his own past and a harrowing journey into the dark Glasgow underworld.

The Laidlaw books are widely considered to be among the greatest achievements of Scottish crime writing and the founding novels of what has since become known as the school of Tartan Noir that includes authors like Val McDermid, Denise Mina, and Ian Rankin.

“This extraordinary and beautifully written novel . . . sets a high standard among contemporary thrillers. . . . Strange Loyalties, like its detective hero, is captivating and unforgettable.” —Publishers Weekly

Praise for William McIlvanney and the Laidlaw series
“A crime trilogy so searing it will burn forever into your memory. McIlvanney is the original Scottish criminal mastermind.” —Christopher Brookmyre, international bestselling author

“The Laidlaw books are like fine malt whiskey—the pure distilled essence of Scottish crime writing.” —Peter May, international bestselling author

“Fastest, first and best, Laidlaw is the melancholy heir to Marlowe. Reads like a breathless scalpel cut through the bloody heart of a city.” —Denise Mina, award-winning author of Conviction

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781609452636
Publisher: Europa Editions
Publication Date: April 7th, 2015