Gabriel García Márquez was a Colombian author, known affectionately as Gabo throughout Latin America. Considered one of the most significant authors of the 20th century, he was awarded the 1972 Neustadt International Prize for Literature and the 1982 Nobel Prize in Literature. He pursued a self-directed education that resulted in his leaving law school for a career in journalism. From early on, he showed no inhibitions in his criticism of Colombian and foreign politics. In 1958, he married Mercedes Barcha; they had two sons, Rodrigo and Gonzalo.
Garcia Marquez, the master of a style known as magic realism, was and remains Latin America's best-known writer. His novels were filled with miraculous and enchanting events and characters; love and madness; wars, politics, dreams and death. Everything he had written, Garcia Marquez once said, he knew or heard before he was 8 years old.

Gabriel García Márquez died on 4/17/14 at the age of 87.

In order from most recent to oldest:

Memories of My Melancholy Whores cover image
Living to Tell the Tale cover image
News of a Kidnapping cover image
Of Love and Other Demons cover image
Strange Pilgrims cover image
The General in His Labyrinth cover image
Clandestine in Chile cover image
Love in the Time of Cholera cover image
Collected Stories cover image
Chronicle of a Death Foretold cover image
Innocent Erendira cover image
The Autumn of the Patriarch cover image
The Story of a Shipwrecked Sailor cover image
One Hundred Years of Solitude  cover image
In Evil Hour cover image
No One Writes to the Colonel cover image
Leaf Storm cover image